58 Stevens Street - Officer Woods Architects

58 Stevens Street,
Officer Woods Architects, Photo: Robert Frith

Western Australian events, awards & prizes

The Western Australian Chapter's program of awards provides opportunities for public and peer recognition of the state's achievements in architecture. Its awards and events program features many highlights of the state's architectural calendar.

The Institute acknowledges the generous support of our major state sponsors.

2016 WA Architecture Awards

Key Dates

Exhibition of Entries: 27 June to 8 July 2016
Exhibition of Entries Opening: 28 June 2016
Presentation Evening: 1 July 2016

Exhibition of Entries

The Exhibition of Entries is an opportunity for the 2016 WA Architecture Awards entries to display their entry.

Date: Monday 27 June to Friday 8 July 2016
Time: 8.30am - 5pm
Venue: Central Park Lobby, 152 - 158 St Georges Tce, Perth

Take a look at all of this years entrants in our  2016 Entries Catelogue

Exhibition of Entries Opening

Members and guests are invited to the cocktail opening of the Exhibition of Entries. 

Date: Tuesday 28 June 2016
Time: 6-8pm
Venue: Central Park Lobby, 152 - 158 St Georges Tce, Perth

Members - no charge
Non-members $40

RSVP by Thursday 23 June 2016 to wa@architecture.com.au 

Presentation Evening

The most prestigious event on the calendar. Celebrate with fellow entrants and peers as the winners are presented with their awards.

Date: Friday 1 July 2016
Time: 6pm
Venue: Grand Ballroom, Crown Perth

Seats: $195.00 per person
Table of 10: $1950.00
All prices include GST.


Please RSVP to wa@architecture.com.au or 08 9287 9900

We look forward to seeing you there.

Gil Nicol Biennial Award 2015/16

Named in honour of one of Western Australia's great architects whose work was inspired by international experiences, the Gil Nicol Biennial Award recognises a local architect who is making a significant impact on the State's built environment while in the early stages of their career.

Entries open 1 May 2015 and close 31 July 2015.

Click here for more information.

E.G. Cohen Medal

Eustace Gresley Cohen was an English born farmer and architect. He practised architecture in Bunbury and became involved with the Institute of Architects of WA. 

He always took a very keen interest in the work and progress of young people in architecture. 
It was for this reason that he established in 1924 a bronze medal to recognise students who have set themselves apart with their work, their attitude to their fellow peers and the respect they have within the profession.

Students are nominated from both The University of Western Australia and Curtin University, submitting a written submission and attend an interview.

The medal is presented at the Exhibition Opening for the WA Architecture Awards at the end of June, by the grandson of Eustace Gresley Cohen.