Our Staff

2019 National Commendation for Heritage | Flinders Street Station Façade Strengthening & Conservation | Lovell Chen | Victoria | Photographer: Martin Leitch

Our Staff

Striving to optimise member value in all we do, your Institute is supported by a dedicated team that manages operational, business and program activities at regional, metropolitan, national and international levels. 


Cameron Bruhn Hon. FRAIA

Cameron joined the Institute in April 2023 and was formerly the Dean and Head of School at The University of Queensland’s School of Architecture. He was previously the editorial director of Architecture Media, where his role included the custodianship of the centenarian magazine Architecture Australia.

He is a respected leader and communicator in Australia’s architecture community and an advocate for the value of the built environment in shaping communities, cities, and regions.

Cameron completed his practice-based PhD at RMIT University, and holds a Bachelor of Design Studies and Bachelor of Architecture from The University of Queensland.

He is an Honorary Fellow of the Australian Institute of Architects, a Fellow of the Design Institute of Australia, and an Honorary Professor at The University of Queensland.

Deputy CEO and Company Secretary


Barry joined the Institute as Chief Financial Officer in January 2019 and was Interim CEO from November 2021 to April 2023.

Barry brings to the Institute over 20 years’ experience in the finance sector. Most recently, he was General Manager, Corporate Services at the Australian Psychological Society, the peak body for psychologists in Australia representing over 24,000 members. He has worked throughout Australia and the USA at an international financial consulting firm and as an accountant at a large communication company in the UK.

Barry holds a Bachelor of Commerce from Deakin University. He is also a qualified Chartered Accountant, Certified Practising Accountant (CPA) and Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.



Leanne is the Institute’s General Manager Policy, Advocacy and Education, leading the organisation’s public policy, research, advocacy and education efforts to promote the value of the architecture profession.

Leanne commenced in this role in March 2019 after joining the Institute in October 2015.

Having worked for over 22 years in the built environment sector, Leanne brings to the role a comprehensive understanding of the issues and challenges facing the profession. She worked for 18 years at Engineers Australia, 14 of them as National and International Policy Executive Director. Prior to this, Leanne worked in a variety of roles with the Queensland Government, both within the Parliamentary Counsel’s Office and the Department of Public Works and Housing.

Leanne has a Bachelor of Laws and Bachelor of Arts from the University of Queensland and a Master of Business Administration from the University of Canberra.

Leanne is a Board member of the Australian Construction Industry Forum.



Michael joined the Institute in July 2018, bringing extensive experience in membership organisations. In his role, Michael is responsible for the engagement and growth of the Institute’s 14,500 member base and the strategic engagement with our major commercial partners.

Prior to joining the Institute, Michael worked at the Institute of Public Accountants in Melbourne as Executive General Manager of Membership Services. Before that, he spent fifteen years working overseas, where he was based in London and New York in senior leadership roles at a number of global organisations including Deloitte, JPMorgan and the Washington Post.

Michael is an Educational Advisory Board Member at Open Colleges, an Advisory Board Member at the Victorian Skills Commission and an Academic Board Member at Holmesglen Institute.

Michael has a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Adelaide and a Master of Business Administration from Coventry University’s London Business School (UK).



Emma joined the Institute in January 2024 in the role of General Manager Chapters.

With more than two decades of hands-on experience in steering HR and Operations functions, Emma joins us from her most recent role as GM Operations at Relationships Australia. Emma has a wealth of experience in leading teams and fostering positive work environments with team members, focussed on sustainable business practices and the achievement of programs and activities which support client and member needs.

Based in our Sydney office, Emma holds a Bachelor of Business degree from the University of Newcastle and has worked across various sectors in the for profit and not for profit organisations, including EDAW AECOM Urban Design and Landscape Architecture.

Interim Chief Financial Officer


Jenny joined the Institute in January 2024 in the role of Interim Chief Financial Officer.

Boasting a rich career spanning over 25 years, Jenny is a dedicated finance professional and an award-winning Chief Financial Officer. She is committed to helping both individuals and organisations unlock their full potential and value. Jenny has an impressive track record of driving strategic growth, steering transformational change, and leading high-performing teams across Australian-listed companies, multinational firms, and not-for-profit organisations.

Based in our Sydney office, Jenny holds a Bachelor of Business degree from the University of Technology, Sydney and a Master of Business Administration from Macquarie University. Additionally, Jenny is a qualified Chartered Accountant and a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Project Lead, People, Culture, Education and Major Events


Vanessa is the Project Lead, People, Culture, Education and Major Events.


Heads and National Managers:
Head of Communications – James Kennedy
National Membership Services Manager – Claudia McCarthy
National Partnerships Manager – Tamara Smith
National Finance Manager – Mira Mitrasevic
National Manager People and Culture – Mark Brown

Chapter Managers:
Executive Director, ACT – Rob Henry
Executive Director, International and Tasmanian chapters – Jennifer Nichols
Executive Director, New South Wales – Lisa King
Executive Director, Northern Territory – Raquel Nicholls-Skene
Executive Director, Queensland – Dr Anna Svensdotter
Executive Director, South Australia – Nicolette Di Lernia
Executive Director, Victoria – Daniel Moore
Executive Director, Western Australia – Jonathan Speer

This form is now closed.