2021 BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize – Now Open

The Australian Institute of Architects, along with principal partner BlueScope and prize patron Glenn Murcutt are pleased to announce the 2021 BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize is now open. Universities are invited to nominate a SONA architecture student who has produced outstanding work which demonstrates excellence in response to place, technology and Australian culture.

Now open until 11.59pm AEDT, Friday, 13 November 2020

A cash prize of $8000 is awarded to the winning student!

The winner will be announced alongside the National Prize winners in 2021. The Institute will actively promote the winner, along with the University, through the Institute’s website, social media and publications, reaching a national audience.

2019 Winner | Sobi Slingsby | Photographer Alejo Achaval


The 2021 BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize is open to architecture students who meet all eligibility requirements below:

  • Current student (SONA) members of the Institute
  • Architecture students who have completed or are currently enrolled in:
    • An undergraduate degree (with a pathway to completing an accredited Master of Architecture) during 2019/2020 or
    • Master of Architecture (accredited program) students enrolled during 2019/2020
  • Design work submitted by students is to have been undertaken within the architecture course in either 2019 or 2020
  • Only individuals may be nominated, group nominations are not permitted

Please note students do not self-nominate for this prize. A student needs to be nominated by their tertiary institution and be supplied with a letter of endorsement from the Head of School/lecturer to be up-loaded in the submission process.

For the purposes of the prize, students represented on the Australian Institute of Architects/SONA national committee, excluding SONA National President, are considered eligible to enter this competition.

About the Process

Step One – University Judging

Each Australian tertiary institution selects one or two nominees to be considered by the National Jury. Nominee numbers from each tertiary institution are determined as follows:

  1. Schools with less than 500 students enrolled may select one nominee from their eligible students.
  2. Schools with 500 or more students enrolled may select up to two nominees from their eligible students

Selection procedures are at the discretion of each tertiary institution, but entries are judged based on the judging criteria.

If the prefer nominee is not a SONA member but they wish to accept the nomination, they have an opportunity to join SONA prior to submitting their entry. SONA membership is $29 until end of Dec 2020 and students can easily join online.

Step Two – Submissions

Each tertiary institution invites their nominee to submit their entry to the Australian Institute of Architects via the online entry form. Each nominee is to provide the following relevant supporting material:

  • Up to 12 scanned or digital images of the project (300 dpi resolution, collated as one continuous print ready A3 PDF).
  • A written statement (max 450 words) describing how the project demonstrates excellence in response to place, in response to technology and in response to Australian culture.
  • A letter of endorsement from your tertiary institution, on University letterhead with a signature of the nominating Head of School/lecturer.

Step Three – National Judging

The National Jury will meet to select a final prize winner from the nominees put forward by the tertiary institutions.

The jury will consist of:

  • Glenn Murcutt or representative
  • Australian Institute of Architects National President
  • SONA National President

Judging Criteria

The selection criteria used by both the University and National Jury shall include, but are not limited to the following:

  • Degree of complexity of the program.
  • Sensitivity and communication of response to place and environment.
  • Practicality of approach to technology and feasibility of construction demonstrating an appreciation of buildability, structure and services requirements.
  • Sensitivity of response and relevance to Australian culture.

More information about this prize can be viewed here. 

Prize closes 11.59pm AEDT on Friday, 13 November.

For enquiries please contact prizes@architecture.com.au