Neville Quarry

The 2019 Darryl Jackson Award for Educational Architecture | Our Lady of the Assumption Catholic Primary School | BVN | Photographer: Gary Cai

About the Prize

Neville Quarry Architectural education prize

The Architectural Education Prize recognises the significance of architectural education in the promotion and improvement of the built environment. The Prize recognises an outstanding contribution in architectural education in one or more areas of: teaching, scholarship, research, leadership and community engagement in both  the higher education and wider community forums.

The Prize is a cash prize of $2000, certificate and medallion.

Nominees must be financial members of the Institute.


To enter please read the eligibility and judging criteria below, then complete the ENTRY FORM before 11:59pm AEDT 9 October 2020.

Nominations can be made directly to the individual or emailed to and the Awards & Prizes team will follow up with your nominee. Entrants are also welcome to self-nominate.

more about this prize

Maitland Riverlink | CHROFI with McGregor Coxall | NSW | Photographer: Simon Wood

The Prize is awarded annually  to those who have made a significant contribution to architectural education.


Denton Corker Marshall Studio | Denton Corker Marshall | Vic | Photographer: Shannon McGrath

Nominations are via an online entry form

King Bill | Austin Maynard Architects | Photographer: Derek Swalwell

Find out more about what the judges are looking for.

QUT Creative Industries Precinct 2 | KIRK and HASSELL (Architects in Association) | Queensland | Photographer: Peter Bennetts

A list of previous winners from 2001 to present


Maitland Riverlink | CHROFI with McGregor Coxall | NSW | Photographer: Simon Wood

Who can participate

The Prize is awarded annually although the jury has discretion not to make an award where there is no nomination of appropriate merit in any year.

The Prize maintains an emphasis on significant contributions to architectural education and recognises an outstanding career within academia.

Individuals and/or groups of individuals who have contributed to architectural education in Australia can be nominated or self-nominate for this prize.

Nominees must be financial members of the Institute.


About the Process

The online entry form must be completed with the following details:

  • A statement of excellence addressing one or more of the selection criteria (teaching, research, community engagement, scholarship, leadership). The statement should be a maximum of 1 x A4 page and be in a format suitable for publication.
  • A curriculum vitae of no more than two A4 pages referencing the nominee’s/applicant’s educational qualifications, career history and teaching positions and experience (where applicable).
  • Contact information of two referees/nominators. 
  • An image of yourself or the group.


To enter please read the eligibility and judging criteria below, then complete the ENTRY FORM before midnight 9 October 2020.

The 2019 Emil Sodersten Award | Denton Corker Marshall Studio | Denton Corker Marshall | Victoria | Photographer: Shannon McGrath

judging criteria

Blackwood St Bunker | Clare Cousins Architects | Photographer: Lisbeth Grossman

what the Judges look for

The Prize is awarded on the basis of demonstrated national or international peer recognition of a contribution to education in any or all of the following categories:

  • teaching
  • scholarship
  • research
  • leadership
  • community engagement.

2019 Winner

2019 Neville Quarry
2019 Winner - Professor Vivian Mitsogianni

congratulations to Vivian mitsogianni

Professor Vivian Mitsogianni has excelled in all areas of academic life – teaching, research and leadership. More distinctly, she has sought ways to combine these fields of endeavour. Her teaching and research have converged seamlessly with an ideas-led architectural practice and been deeply informed by her own personal explorations in design since she established M@Studio Architects almost two decades ago. This practice won the inaugural competition for the NGV architecture commission which, when realized, attracted critical acclaim and public approval.


Vivian has played a much greater role at RMIT University than that of an exemplary architect for students to look up to. As head of architecture since 2013, she continues to foster opportunities for other adventurous architectural studios to teach in the RMIT program or to themselves become students and embark on design-based research. She has been a core member of the supervisory team for the RMIT practice-based PhD program, and her doctoral students have included luminaries of the profession in Australia and abroad, including one of her referees for this award.  

She is a powerful voice for design and education, as demonstrated by her work in co-editing the 2015 book Studio Futures: Changing Architectural Trajectories in Architectural Education. Lastly, Vivian has proved a compelling manager, winning the RMIT vice-chancellor’s leadership award for “progressing the discipline with authority and humility while helping others to be the best self they can be.” – Jury Citation 

Previous Winners 2001 - Present

2019Professor Vivian Mitsogianni, RMIT University
2018no winner
2017no winner
2016Professor Michael Ostwald, University of Newcastle
2015Professor Paul Memmott, University of Queensland
2014Professor Miles Lewis, University of Melbourne
2013Peter Corrigan, RMIT University
2012Winner: Shane Murray, Monash University
2012Commendation: David O'Brien, University of Melbourne
2011Winner: Associate Professor Anna Rubbo, University of Sydney
2011Commendation: Barry McNeill, Tasmania
2010Winner: Professor Gordon Holden, Griffith University
2010Commendation: Associate Professor Sameer Akkach, University of Adelaide
2008Professor Graham Brawn, University of Melbourne
2008Commendation: Rachel Hurst
2007Joint Winners: Bill Busfield, University of Western Australia and Dr Paula Whitman, Queensland University of Technology
2006Professor Deo Prasad, University of New South Wales
2005Professor Leon van Schaik, RMIT University
2005Commendation: Dr Anna Rubbo, University of Sydney
2004Rory Spence, University of Tasmania
2004Joint Commendation: David Morris and Nick Opie, University of South Australia
2003Joint winners: Errol Tout and Stephen Parkin, Curtin University of Technology
2002Professor Lindsay Johnston, University of Newcastle
2001Professor JenniferTaylor, Queensland University of Technology