WA Chair of Juries announced

John Taylor has been announced as the WA Chair of Juries for 2021. John has been the principal of his multiple award-winning practice since 1990, and recognised for significant contributions to the Australian Institute of Architects since 1984, where he is currently a State councillor.  John was a member of the Architects Board of WA from 2008-2020, and its chair during 2014-2019.  He has also served as a director of the Architect Accreditation Council of Australia (AACA), on university accreditation review panels around Australia; he is both an AACA overseas-qualified practitioner assessor and experienced practitioner assessor.

John was the first Western Australian winner of the Institute’s national Lachlan Macquarie Award, also receiving many State awards and UNESCO Asia-Pacific heritage awards. John is called on to give advice to various bodies, including local Design Review Panels and WA Development Assessment Panels.  He has written a number of award-winning books on Australian architects, contributed to the Encyclopedia of Australian Architecture, and published over 100 short architect biographies on the internet.

Entries for the 2021 WA Architecture Awards close on 19 February 2021. For details visit www.architecture.com.au/awards#about