Tasmanian Architecture Awards showcase adapting the existing

Projects that reused and reinvented existing buildings have dominated at the 2020 Tasmanian Architecture Awards.

This year’s winners, announced for the first time via a YouTube live stream, were revealed on Friday 12 June.

The Tasmanian awards are the second in a month-long series of state and territory architecture awards run by the Australian Institute of Architects. These awards recognise architectural excellence in categories such as public architecture, residential, commercial, education, and sustainability.

The Australian Institute of Architects’ Tasmanian Chapter Executive Director, Jennifer Nichols, said that these projects showcase what makes Tasmania special.

‘We have beautiful heritage homes and buildings across the state, but they are ageing and don’t have the amenities required for modern living. Many of the winning projects show how architects can transform these buildings into practical and unique places to live, work and play,’ said Miss Nichols.

‘We see this in Bozen’s Cottage in Oatlands, by Taylor and Hinds Architects, which uses an existing sandstone cottage and transforms it into a cosy family home, while the Kingborough Community Hub by March Studio utilises the existing structure of the former Kingston High School gymnasium in making the site a place for all.’

‘Architects in Tasmania, and across Australia, have a unique ability to problem solve, and as we come out of the COVID-19 crisis, these skills will be more important than ever.’

Jury chair, Lucy Burke-Smith, of Purcell, said that the entries in this year’s awards demonstrate once again the calibre of architects within Tasmania.

‘This creativity is evident in the strong submissions across the categories for Heritage and Residential Architecture – Alterations and Additions. These entries breathe new life into existing buildings in ways which are not only creative, but sustainable for cities such as Hobart as we consider issues of density and urban sprawl. The Jury recognised several projects which stand as benchmarks for those looking to adaptively reuse or insert new additions in residential contexts to support independent living for retirees and multi-generational living.’

All are invited to vote for their favourite project in the annual People’s Choice online.

All Tasmanian Chapter winners were selected by independent juries. All Named Award and Award winners will now progress to the National Architecture Awards.


Lucy Burke-Smith RAIA (Chair) | Associate, Purcell

Bevan Rees FRAIA | Director, Bevan Rees Architect

Will Harkness RAIA | Project Architect, JAWS Architects

Bek Verrier RAIA | Associate, Bence Mulcahy

Bernadette Wilson | Victorian & Tasmanian Manager, Design Institute of Australia

Full list of winners

Commercial Architecture

The Colin Philp Award | Three Capes Track Lodges | Andrew Burns Architecture

Chapter Award | Stillwater Seven | Cumulus Studio

Chapter Award | MOSS 39 | Circa Morris-Nunn Chua Architects

Public Architecture

The Alan C Walker Award | Kingborough Community Hub | March Studio

Urban design

The Dirk Bolt Award | Bridge of Remembrance | Denton Corker Marshall

Educational Architecture

Chapter Commendation | Parklands High School Redevelopment | ARTAS Architects

Chapter Commendation | The Media School – University of Tasmania | Morrison & Breytenbach Architects


The Roy Sharrington Smith Award | Bozen’s Cottage | Taylor & Hinds Architects

Chapter Award | Hollow Tree House | Core Collective Architects

Interior Architecture

The Alexander North Award | Eternal Women’s Health | Core Collective Architects

Chapter Award | Legislative Council Chambers | JAWS Interiors (In collaboration with JAWS Architects)

Residential Architecture – Houses (Alterations & Additions)

The Edith Emery Award | Lower Jordan Hill Road | Taylor & Hinds Architects

Chapter Award | Ryde Street House | Bence Mulcahy

Chapter Award | Hampden Rd | Archier

Chapter Commendation | (Gr)ancillary Dwelling | Crump Architects

Chapter Commendation | Symmons Plains | Cumulus Studio

Residential Architecture – Houses (New)

Chapter Commendation | The Stringybark Residence | JAWS Architects

Chapter Commendation | The Lake House | biotope architecture.interiors (formally MGArchitecture.Interiors)

Sustainable Architecture

The Barry McNeill Award | Ryde Street House | Bence Mulcahy

Chapter Commendation | The Lake House | biotope architecture.interiors (MGArchitecture.Interiors)

Enduring Architecture

Chapter Award | Hobart Animal Hospital | Heffernan Nation Rees Viney Architects

COLORBOND® Award for Steel Architecture

Chapter Award | Kingborough Community Hub | March Studio

Chapter Commendation | Symmons Plains | Cumulus Studio

Chapter Prizes

The Henry Hunter Triennial Prize | Mount Stuart Greenhouse | Bence Mulcahy

President’s Prize | Keith Drew

Emerging Architect Prize | Pippa Jensen | Cumulus Studio

SWT Blythe Student Prize | Lyell’s Lament | Dylan Rowbottom

SWT Blythe Commendation | MONA CONA – City of New Atmospheres | Steph Papastavrou

This form is now closed.