NSW Architecture Awards 2020 shortlist announced

Led by Chair of Juries Peter Poulet, this year’s juries for the 2020 NSW Architecture Awards have announced the shortlist of 122 entries. The shortlist was developed following an intensive schedule of presentations and juries will now undertake rigorous peer review of shortlisted projects across 11 categories.

This year’s program attracted a wide range of projects, from public architecture, educational, cultural and commercial buildings to small public amenities, luxury residences and sustainable architecture.

‘With the current health and economic crisis prompting us all to reflect more deeply on the nature of spaces – especially those we are spending lots of time in – coming together to celebrate the value that architecture brings to the community is more important than ever,’ said NSW Chapter President Ms Kathlyn Loseby.

‘We may have had to run the awards program a little differently due to the lockdown, but what remains constant is the creativity and quality of design across NSW and in all categories.’

The NSW winners in each category will be announced in coming months. Shortlisted entries will also compete for our prestigious named awards including the Sulman Medal, Wilkinson Award, Greenway Award and the NSW Architecture Medallion.

‘Our 2020 Jurors have worked hard to judge entries entirely remotely and we commend everyone for their pursuit of outstanding design to ensure a worthy legacy of work in local communities,’ said jury chair Mr Peter Poulet.

Entries that earn NSW Chapter Awards and named awards will progress to be considered by the National Jury for the National Architecture Awards later this year.

The full shortlist here

The media gallery with images of all shortlisted projects can be accessed via https://nationalarchitecture.awardsplatform.com/register/BnkrmJvl
Please note that you will need to register to obtain the pictures and information. When using the pictures, please credit the appropriate photographer.

Media enquiries contact

Wilma Walsh
Communication Officer
0421 012 566