Introducing the 2022 National Architecture Awards Jury

We’re excited to introduce the Jury for the 2022 National Architecture Awards. Selected for their design expertise and passion for Australian Architecture, the jurors bring a wealth of experience and an array of valuable perspectives. Tasked with evaluating and deciding on the very best architecture across Australia, the five jury members are extremely well placed to lead the 2022 Awards.  

2022 Jury members


Tony is the Institute’s Immediate Past National President, recently stepping down from the National Presidency in May 2022.

Tony is a Director of tectvs, a mid-size multi-disciplinary architecture and interior design studio, which is celebrating over 30 years in practice. He is also an Industry Professor at the School of Architecture and Built Environment at The University of Adelaide. 

The scale and complexity of their multi-awarded projects are many and varied as are the clients and industries they collaborate with; from educational facilities, civic and infrastructure, commercial and workplace, multi-residential, residential homes, adaptive reuse to urban design and master planning.

Tony has been an active contributor to the furthering of design practice across industry, profession, and education. He has been actively involved with the Australian Institute of Architects in various other roles over many years as an Awards Juror, SA Chapter Councillor and SA State Chapter President. He has recently been appointed as the Chair of the Institute’s 2023 Venice Biennale Committee.

He has been the facilitator of the TAP International Design Workshop programs from 2014 – 2019 between The University of Adelaide, Tongji University Shanghai and the Politecnico di Milano fostering international design collaboration of our future generation.


Caroline Pidcock is passionate about the importance of architecture, biophilia and regenerative design, and how they can contribute to a “culturally rich, socially just and ecologically restorative” future. She has a rich back ground of experience deriving from significant involvement and contributions to practice, professions, academia, government and community groups.

She feels strong affinity with and has been shaped by salt water environments, and is learning how to reconnect her ways of knowing, being and doing with nature to enable a more holistic approach to how she lives and works. Her current focus is to use this approach to work with others to develop essence based regenerative ideas to facilitate effective action on climate change. 


After graduating from the University of Tasmania in 2006, Poppy received the Tasmanian Emerging Architects Prize in 2011, and established Taylor and Hinds Architects with Mat Hinds in 2013.  Based in Hobart, the practice has since received national and international recognition for a body of work that is experientially considered and rigorous.

In 2019, Taylor and Hinds was named in the DOMUS Top 50 international practices, and has received a number of Institute Awards, including the Nicholas Murcutt Award for Small Project Architecture in 2018, for krakani lumi, and the Lachlan Macquarie Award for Heritage Architecture in 2020, for Bozen’s Cottage.  In early 2018, krakani lumi was awarded from a field of 400 projects across Australasia as ‘The best of the Best’, at the INDE. Awards.  In 2020, Taylor and Hinds were nominated for the prestigious Swiss Architectural Award, and has twice been nominated for the Royal Academy’s Dorfman Award.  Since establishing private practice, Poppy has also taught at a number of institutions nationally, and was a juror in the 2020 HOUSES awards. 

Poppy’s work as an architect focusses on the integrity of architectural ideation, and clarity of tectonic intention.  Her work has been widely published nationally and internationally. 


Over the past 30 years Adrian has made a significant and sustained contribution to the profession of architecture at a State and National level. His participation in Institute juries both as a member and Chair across Australia have maintained a high level of critical discourse and clear advocacy for the impact that quality architecture can have in our community. 

Adrian is a Design Architect in its purest form, clearly thinking through drawing to translate ideas into clear communication. Educated in Perth (Curtin University), Melbourne (MArch Research RMIT) and Frankfurt (Staatliche Hochschule fur Bildende Kunste-Stadelschule), Adrian’s experience in practice and lecturing and his extensive travels provide him with a truly global perspective.  

He has specific experience in urban design, education, aged care, custodial, sport and recreation and innovative, low cost, sustainable housing for both public and private clients. These projects have been highly rewarded and published and continue to set benchmarks for West Australian housing.  


Tim Ross is a well-regarded comedian, presenter and architecture enthusiast. In 2016  he presented the architecture documentary Streets of Your Town,  which was the most watched arts program on the ABC for the year.

More recently, his follow up documentary Designing A Legacy aired to rave reviews. He has written on architecture for mastheads such as the Guardian, The Saturday Paper and The Australian. His live shows and talks have been part of the Asia Pacific Architecture Festival, Melbourne Design Week and the London Festival of Architecture.

Tim Ross was honoured to present the Griffin Architecture Lecture at the National Press Club, has been awarded the President’s Prize and has won multiple National Trust Awards for his advocacy work for built heritage.