From the Tas Executive Director

We’re well into the swing of things in the Chapter office and are looking forward to an exciting year. Along with my role as Executive Director of the Tasmanian Chapter, I’ll be now also be taking on this role for the International Chapter. This is an exciting opportunity to showcase Tasmanian initiatives on a global scale and for us all to form ties internationally, and with the support of the Chapter staff, I’m looking forward to this new challenge.

Now that the award entries have closed, we’re looking forward to hearing about the entries at the presentation to the jury. I’d encourage you all the come along to see the architecture that is being produced in our state – bring your clients and friends! The schedule for the presentations will be released shortly, and all the details for the day can be found here. Congratulations to this year’s jury – read about who is on the jury here.

We held our change-over Chapter Council meeting at the start of February, and I would like to congratulate our newly elected Chapter Councillor, Pippa Jensen, and re-elected Chapter Councillors, Sophie Bence, Genevieve Lilley, Gaetano Palmese and Paul Wakelam. Our new EmAGN chair is Scott Flett, and our SONA representative is Emily Hunt. They’re joined by the existing Chapter Councillors, and Jono Buist who commenced his role on Chapter Council in December. I’m looking forward to working with you all. A big thank you to outgoing Chapter Councillor, Cath Hall, for all that she’s done while on Chapter Council – particularly for her work on the Practice Forums. From all our members, thank you Cath.

Jennifer Nichols

Executive Director, Tasmanian Chapter
Australian Institute of Architects