Final State Awards for 2015

4 July

The 2015 winners of the Australian Institute of Architects’ NSW Architecture Awards have been announced, with the state’s most prestigious honour, the Sulman Medal for Public Architecture, going to Westmead Millenium Institute by BVN for successfully bringing together staff from six sites within a ‘singular place of calm engagement’. Read the full list of winners here.

One of South Australia’s most coveted honours, the Jack McConnell Award for Public Architecture, went to the Adelaide Oval Redevelopment by Cox Architecture, Walter Brooke and Hames Sharley. The city landmark was lauded by the judges for its ‘transformation from a picturesque sporting venue into a civic building, able to accommodate multiple international sports and events’. See what else the judges had to say about the SA Awards here.

Over in Western Australia it was the Fiona Stanley Hospital that took out the highest overall honour, the George Temple Poole Award, honouring excellence in the design and construction industry. The judges saying that the Fiona Stanley Hospital breaks new ground in hospital design, with a layout that can accommodate future expansion, new developments in clinical treatment and medical technologies. See who else took home a prize here.