2020 Tasmanian architecture awards

people's choice Voting page

Hollow Tree House | Core Collective Architects | Photographer: Adam Gibson
Hollow Tree House | Core Collective Architects | Photographer: Adam Gibson

2020 Tasmanian architecture awards people's choice

Have a browse through the projects, decide on your favourite, and cast your vote in the People’s Choice by voting for the project below.

2020 Tasmanian Architecture Awards – People’s Choice

The Australian Institute of Architects, with the support of our partners, invite you to vote for your favourite project entered in this year’s Tasmanian Architecture Awards.

By voting, you will go into the draw to win a range of prizes. 

First Prize: HydroTap G4 Classic,  BCS (Boiling, Chilled & Sparkling)

The Zip HydroTap Residential, Boiling, Chilled, Sparkling, Filtered water appliance features a single under bench command centre including full colour interactive touch screen display with pin code protection, 2 boiling water safety modes, 3 energy saving modes including sensor activated “sleep when it’s dark”, 0.2 micron water filtration and 2 disposable CO2 cylinders. This will be installed by a local Tasmanian-based Zip Technician at no charge*.

Second prize: Blundstone boots

Our friends at Blundstone are generously giving away a pair of their iconic boots. Established in Hobart in 1870, Blundstone is a true Tassie success story. Today their boots are worn all over the world but they hold a special place for the generations of Tasmanians who have walked, worked and travelled in Blundstone’s iconic footwear.

Third prize: Recycled Herringbone Throw from Waverley Mills.

This limited edition recycled version of their traditional Herringbone design is an essential for any home. In soft grey, this Herringbone throw is made from a natural fibre blend of 50% superfine Tasmanian Merino wool with alpaca and mohair waste, brushed to make it even softer to the touch. Waverley Mills is luxury, quality, sustainability. As Australia’s oldest working textile mill (established in 1874), they produce designer wool products that are guaranteed to last, beautifully and carefully crafted, and ethically produced. 

Fourth prize: a night at the award-winning #TheBaeTAS by architects Liz Walsh and Alex Nielsen.

Once restrictions have lifted, enjoy this study in small space living. The architecturally designed micro-luxe apartment puts the ‘all’ in small, maximising every square millimetre of it’s 26.5m2 footprint to deliver an adaptable space with all of the creature comforts of home. Located on the top floor of a 70s apartment building, #TheBaeTAS enjoys vast water views and is bathed in light. This project received the Tasmanian Chapter’s 2019 Edith Emery Award for Residential Architecture – Houses (Alterations and Additions), and a National Award for Interior Architecture in the 2019 Australian Institute of Architects Awards.

The People’s Choice is about you, the public, having your say. So, please vote for your favorite project and help spread the word about Tasmanian architecture!

Voting in the People’s Choice closes at midnight Sunday 28 June 2020.

* People’s Choice: Terms & Conditions


Only one entry per email address during the promotional period will be accepted.


The promotion commences 13/05/2020 and closes at midnight 28/06/2020.


The nature of the prizes are listed above. 


The winners will be notified by the Australian Institute of Architects by Friday 10 July 2020, and announced on our social media.


Everyone is welcome to vote, but you must reside in Tasmania to win first prize. Second, third and fourth prizes are open Australia wide. You may only vote once and you must have a valid email address to vote. Your email address will be added to the mailing list for Open House Launceston and Open House Hobart, so you can be the first to know about forthcoming architecture events. You can unsubscribe upon receiving the first email.


The promoter is the Australian Institute of Architects, 1/19a Hunter Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000 – ABN: 72 000 023 012.

*Please note, you may only vote once, you must have a valid email address and you must reside in Tasmania to win first prize. Second, third and fourth prizes are open Australia wide.

Our partners

Principal Partner
Major National Partners
National Corporate Partners
National Supporting Partners

​National Insurance Partner

National Media Partner
State Partners

This form is now closed.