From the Tas Executive Director: Chapter Council & Practice Committee Update

The Tasmanian Chapter Council has recently filled the two casual vacancies that became open on the Council earlier this year with Sophie Bence and Genevieve Lilley stepping down from their positions. I am delighted to announce that Kate Symons, of Studio Ilk, and Megan Baynes, from the City of Hobart, will fill these positions for the remainder of the term until the February 2022 handover meeting. Thank you to everyone who expressed an interest in these roles, and we encourage you all to nominate for Chapter Council in the upcoming elections later in the year. We look forward to working with Kate and Megan, and benefiting from their experience in informing our way forward as we navigate issues relating to the profession.

On behalf of the membership, we would like to thank Misho Vasiljevich and Shane Cox, who have both recently stepped down from the Practice Committee. Shane has been a long-term member of the committee, and served as the chair between 2013 and 2019. Misho joined the Practice Committee in 2018, and took on the role of chair in 2019. Both have contributed an immense amount of time and knowledge to the Chapter and the Institute nationally in their contribution to the National Practice Committee, and we sincerely thank them both for this.

Jennifer Nichols

Executive Director, Tasmanian Chapter
Australian Institute of Architects