From the Tas Executive Director

Two weeks ago I had the pleasure of attending the national executive meetings in Brisbane, and also attending the National Architecture Awards. Congratulations to Liz Walsh and Alex Nielsen, who received a National Architecture Award for Interior Architecture for their project, #TheBaeTAS, and to Partners Hill, who received the Robin Boyd Award for Residential Architecture – Houses (New) for their Daylesford Longhouse, and the Frederick Romberg Award for Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing, for the Mermaid Multihouse, with Hogg & Lamb. All the award recipients can be found here. Congratulations also to Leigh Woolley, who recently received the 2019 Australian Urban Design Award for Leadership, Advocacy and Research – City and Regional Scale for his Building Height Standards Review Project. Read more about these awards here.

Open House Hobart was held over the weekend of November 9 & 10, and we had a wonderful weekend sharing the value of architecture with the public, allowing them to experience architecture first-hand. The program, at its core, is about public education, enabling the public to learn about architecture through experiencing it. A massive thank you to all of you who assisted with the program – it couldn’t be done without you. The numbers for the weekend are still being counted, and we’ll keep you updated!

Lastly, I would like to announce that Jonathan Buist has been selected to fill the casual vacancy on Chapter Council that was created when Carly McMahon moved interstate, and will commence this position at the December Chapter Council meeting. I’m looking forward to working with Jono in this role.

Jennifer Nichols

Executive Director, Tasmanian Chapter
Australian Institute of Architects