From the International Chapter Executive Director – January 2021

I hope you have all enjoyed a wonderful and relaxing holiday with family and friends after a challenging 2020 that certainly required resolve and agility to navigate. As we venture into 2021, I look forward to working with you all toward strengthening the profession and advocating to all levels of government and the broader community about the value that architecture and design bring to society. I also am committed to working with you all on bringing your International Chapter community together and providing a worthwhile connection back to the profession in Australia.

I am pleased to inform you that after the recent Chapter Council elections that the International Chapter will be lead again for a second term by Samantha Cotterell, in her appointment to the International Chapter Council as Chair – a very sincere congratulations! Samantha will also take office as a National Councillor (Chapter-elected) for a second term.

I am pleased to inform you that the International Chapter will also be represented by the following successful candidates, who will also take office for a two-year term at the first 2021 Chapter Council meeting. They are Natalie Ward, John Chow, Robert Nation and Peter O’Brien. I feel the Chapter is in great hands and our team look forward to working with Chapter Council on the issues that are important to the profession.

Sadly, we farewell from Chapter Council David Teh and Janine Campbell, both of whom have contributed enormously to the Chapter and the profession. I thank them sincerely for this, both personally and on behalf of the membership. Finally thank you all as a membership for participating in the Institute’s important governance processes through both nominating and voting in the elections.

As we move forward I hope we can collectively work for further gains in understanding the benefit that architecture brings to the community and society more broadly.

Jennifer Nichols

Executive Director, International Chapter
Australian Institute of Architects