Thursday 7 November, Brisbane

2019 National Architecture Awards

Celebrating excellence in design

The National Architecture Awards have been held annually since 1981, recognising and celebrating outstanding achievements and excellence in architecture.

From a total field of 895 entries from around the country and abroad in the 2019 awards program, 185 projects progressed to national judging following success at their respective chapter events earlier in the year. 

The winners of the 2019 National Architecture Awards will be announced at special evening ceremony at Howard Smith Wharves in Brisbane on Thursday 7 November. 

Discover Australia's best Architecture of 2019

From a field of 185 eligible projects, the national jury has shortlisted 78 entries spread across every state and territory in Australia as well as Europe and the Asia Pacific region for the 2019 National Architecture Awards. 

Opera House’s Joan Sutherland Theatre | Scott Carver | Photographer: Lynton Crabb

The winners of the 2019 National Architecture Awards were announced on Thursday 7 November.

View all the winning and commended projects. 

Meet your national jurors. 


Announcing the 2019 Shortlist

A total of 78 entries, spanning the corners of the globe and every state and territory, have been shortlisted across 14 categories by the national jury for the Australian Institute of Architects’ coveted National Architecture Awards.

Almost one in four projects shortlisted for the 7 November ceremony are located outside the country’s major cities. The national jury, led by Immediate Past President Clare Cousins, were encouraged by the volume and strength of projects in regional and remote locations across the country.

‘In selecting the most outstanding projects from around the country we were heartened that such meaningful and transformational work is being commissioned in regional areas where projects have the capacity to act as incubators for regional growth and to stimulate community engagement,’ Clare Cousins said.

From a total field of 895 entries in the 2019 awards program, 185 projects were eligible for national judging following success at their respective state and territory events earlier in the year.

See the full shortlist and read more about this year’s awards in our media release or click on the images below to browse by category. 

Congratulations to all shortlisted entrants. 

Commercial Architecture

Educational Architecture

Enduring Architecture


Interior Architecture

International Architecture

Public Architecture

Residential Architecture – Houses (Alterations and Additions)

Residential Architecture – Houses (New)

Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing

Small Project Architecture

Sustainable Architecture

Urban Design

COLORBOND® Award for Steel Architecture

2019 People's Choice Award

2018 National Architecture Award for Residential Architecture Houses (New) and 2018 People's Choice Award winner | Cabbage Tree House | Peter Stutchbury Architecture | Photographer: Michael Nicholsan

Vote for your favourite house

This year, 15 residential projects are up for the honour of being awarded Australia’s favourite house.

Vote for your favourite house and go in the running for some great prizes.

2019 National Architecture AWards Jury

jury on tour

2019 National Architecture Awards Jury (L-R) | Rachel Neeson, Mat Hinds, Emma Williamson, Clare Cousins (Chair) and Donald Bates | Photographer: Vueey Le Photography

Meet your 2019 jurors

Clare Cousins LFRAIA (Jury Chair)

Immediate Past National President – Australian Institute of Architects 

Director – Clare Cousins Architects, Victoria

Rachel Neeson FRAIA

Director – Neeson Murcutt Architects, NSW

Mat Hinds RAIA

Director – Taylor and Hinds Architects, Tasmania

Emma Williamson RAIA

Founder and CEO – TheFulcrum.Agency, WA

Prof Donald Bates LFRAIA

Co-Founder and Director – LAB Architecture Studio, Victoria

Chair of Architectural Design – University of Melbourne

Join us in Brisbane For Architecture's night of nights

2019 National Awards Ceremony

The 2019 National Architecture Awards will be held in Brisbane on Thursday 7 Nov. 

Socialise over welcome drinks and canapes, then join host Janice Petersen from SBS World News as we announce the recipients of 2019 National honours and afterwards celebrate into the night with a cocktail reception on the iconic Brisbane waterfront.

When: 6pm, Thursday 7 Nov 2019

Where: Howard Smith Wharves, Brisbane City

Dress code: Cocktail

Tickets: Members $185 / Non-members $195

Terms and conditions
Tickets are transferable so if you are unable to attend, you are welcome to send a substitute guest. All cancellations or changes to a registration must be made in writing to the Events Team events@architecture.com.au.

All cancellations and refunds will incur an administration fee of $50.00, no refunds will be issued within 14 days before the event. ‘No shows’ to the event will be charged the full ticket price.

Event Details

How to get there

The presentation will take place on the bank of the Brisbane River in Howard’s Hall East, under the Story Bridge, 5 Boundary Road, Brisbane City, the after party to follow at the Rivershed.

Pre-book your on-site parking here. Alternative paid parking is located nearby: Wilson Parking entry to the car park off Main Street or Harrison Land, Secure Parking in Chinatown Mall and Secure Parking on Brunswick Street.

By bus:
Adelaide Street, Eagle Street, Ann Street and Brunswick Streets are the closest bus stops to Howard Smith Wharves.

On foot:
The west footpath joins Howard Smith Wharves from the City Reach Boardwalk near Queen Street, Brisbane City. The east footpath begins at the New Farm Riverwalk from Riverview Court, New Farm. Two lifts are located at the top of the cliffs on Bowen Terraces for direct access into the precinct.

Need a place to stay?

To assist with your stay in Brisbane, we have collated a list of accommodation options: available at special discounted rates exclusively for those attending the 2019 National Architecture Awards. All rates are subject to availability and you may be required to provide your credit card details at the time of booking.

Contact us

National Events Team
PO Box 3373
Manuka ACT 2603
P: +61 (2) 6121 2021
E: events@architecture.com.au

Media enquiries
Alexandra Nesbitt
P: +61 (0) 477 333 205
E: alexandra.nesbitt@architecture.com.au

Partnership enquiries
Shell Brennan
P: +61 (0) 402 158 875
E: shell.brennan@architecture.com.au


National Architecture Awards partners

Principal Partner
Major National Partners
National Corporate Partners
Supporting Partners
National Insurance Partner
National Media Partner

This form is now closed.