NGV Contemporary Design Competition jury announced

The Victorian Government and the National Gallery of Victoria are pleased to announce the full NGV Contemporary Design Competition jury today. This announcement is made on the launch of the Expression of Interest for the competition on 2 March 2021.

Three jury members were announced in January this year: Tony Ellwood AM, Director, NGV; Jill Garner AM, Victorian Government Architect and Director, Garner Davis Architects; and Corbett Lyon, NGV Trustee and Director, Lyons Architecture (Jury Chair).

These jury members will be joined by Maree Clarke, a Yorta Yorta/ Wamba Wamba/Mutti Mutti/Boonwurrung woman and an independent multi-disciplinary artist and curator; Francine Houben, Director of global architecture practice Mecanoo based in Delft; Gerard Reinmuth, Director of TERROIR and Professor of Practice at UTS in Sydney; and Xu Tiantian, Director of DnA based in Beijing.

For extended biographies of the Jury members visit the competition website.

Expressions of Interest (EOI) open on Tuesday 2 March. In order to access the EOI documents, you must first register via the competition website. Registrations close on Tuesday 9 March 2021.

NGV Contemporary Design Competition juror biographies:

Maree Clarke brings with her over 30 years’ experience working in the contemporary and cultural First Nations arts sector. She is a leading possum skin artist, also working with kangaroo teeth, echidna quills, glass and photography, and has been a curator at the Koorie Heritage Trust and Wyndham Art Gallery.

Tony Ellwood AM is the Director of the National Gallery of Victoria (NGV) and a leading figure in the Australian arts sector. He began his career as an Aboriginal Art Coordinator at Waringarri Aboriginal Arts, Kununurra; then as a Curator at the NGV. He was Director, Bendigo Art Gallery; Deputy Director – International Art, NGV and Director of the Queensland Art Gallery and the Gallery of Modern Art (QAGOMA) prior to returning to the NGV as Director in 2012. Under Tony Ellwood’s stewardship, the National Gallery of Victoria has become the most visited gallery in the country.

Jill Garner AM became the Victorian Government Architect in 2015, stepping into a role as public advocate for architecture and design after more than twenty years in practice. Her practice – Garner Davis Architects – has received numerous industry awards for works ranging from residential to public buildings. As a design advisor in government, she strongly promotes the value of contextual, integrated design thinking and a collaborative approach across design disciplines.

Francine Houben has led Mecanoo since 1984, over which time the practice has amassed an extensive portfolio of award-winning work that is inspired by global challenges and with a sustainable view on society. She combines the disciplines of architecture, urban planning and landscape architecture in an untraditional way, with a profound sensitivity for light and beauty.

Corbett Lyon is an Australian architect, art patron and academic who lives and works in Melbourne. He is a founding director of Melbourne architectural firm Lyons. Lyons has designed many award-winning institutional and public buildings in Australia. He is a Trustee of the National Gallery of Victoria and has been a member of the Victorian Government’s Design Review Panel.

Gerard Reinmuth is the Founding Director of TERROIR, an architectural practice based in Sydney, Hobart and Copenhagen. Projects include the Tornhuset Maritime Museum, Penguin Parade Visitor Centre and soon to be completed Puffing Billy Railway Visitor Centre at Lakeside. Gerard is a Professor of Practice at the University of Technology Sydney and was the Creative Director of the National Architecture Conference in 2009 and Creative Director for the 2012 Venice Biennale of Architecture (Australian Pavilion).

Xu Tiantian is an architect based in Beijing. She received her Master of Architecture in Urban Design from Harvard before working as a senior architect at OMA in Rotterdam. Since opening DnA _Design and Architecture she has achieved a strong reputation in China with numerous cultural and educational projects. She received the WA China Architecture Award, the Young Architects Award from The Architectural League New York and the Moira Gemmill Prize for Emerging Architecture.