Leader, student and emerging architect rewarded at Tasmanian Architecture Awards

Peter Willmott has been recognised with the President’s Prize at the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2013 Tasmanian Architecture Awards that took place on Saturday 15 June.

‘Peter is known for the subtlety of his designs and his unique perspective, both as an architect and teacher,’ Tasmanian President Andrew Williamson commented.

‘Colleagues say it was this approach combined with a rigorous process of research and exploration that influenced Peter’s works, among them the design for the refurbishment of City Hall in the mid-1970s and the Hobart Police Citizens and Youth Club extension in the 1980s, along with a rich variety of smaller projects.’

The Emerging Architects Prize has been awarded to Peta Heffernan, Director of Liminal Studio for her ‘active involvement in the Australian Institute of Architects, not only through the donation of her time to organising events, but also through participation on Chapter Council and other committees. Furthermore, she is actively involved in the wider arts community; her work with various arts groups and her role on the Tasmanian Creative Industries Council help to actively promote the value of design and a culture of design thinking’.

Edwina Hughes received the SWT Blythe Student Prize for her Wilkinsons Point Bath House project which is an ‘evocative and sublime form that offers great sensory breadth once within and submerged.’

Wilkinsons Point Bath House by Edwina Hughes.
Wilkinsons Point Bath House by Edwina Hughes.