From the Tas Executive Director

I had the pleasure of working with Andrew Williamson in his tenure as Chapter President, and I am delighted, on behalf of Chapter Council, to welcome him back to Chapter Council to fill the casual vacancy from the recent election. Andrew will work passionately for the Chapter and we are very fortunate to have his depth of experience as part of the group.

In reflection on the Tasmanian Architecture Awards, I would like to thank everyone involved. It is an enormous task entering the awards, and I would like to thank and commend all entrants for sharing their work with us all. To the Awards Task Force – David Button, Fred Ward, Claire Austin, Cath Williams, Gaetano Palmese, Neal Mackintosh, Rachel Licht – and my team, Fiona McMullen and Katie Katos, thank you all for your vision and strength to put together a weekend of architectural experiences that celebrated both the built environment, our members and the wonder of the east coast of Tasmania. One person wrote some feedback and said they ‘loved the wild and Woolley theme’ and I thought this truly captured something of the weekend which wasn’t just to celebrate the architectural work but also the community that surround that work. It was wonderful to have Bevan Rees and Peter Cripps there in person to accept their awards and wonderful for us all to get to celebrate their achievements.

The Tasmanian Government have celebrated and acknowledged the value of the work in parliament with both the Attorney-General, the Honourable Elise Archer MP and the Honourable Guy Barnett MP putting their thoughts and congratulations on the public record in parliament. Minister Archer’s adjournment speech can be found here, and begins at page 107, and Minister Barnett’s Notice of Motion can be found here, on the second page at note 21. The Honourable Rebecca White MP similarly acknowledged the work in parliament, and her adjournment speech can be found here at page 127.

Jennifer Nichols

Executive Director, Tasmanian Chapter
Australian Institute of Architects