Barry McNeill Graduate Prize 2021 recipient announced

The 2021 Barry McNeill Graduate Prize was announced at the CONNECT exhibition, showcasing the work of shortlisted graduating students from the University of Tasmania’s Master of Architecture program, on Friday evening.

This year, the panel has jointly awarded two winners of the Graduate Prize. Congratulations to Imogen Pinnington and Yao Tian (YT).

The citations from the jury are as follows:

Imogen Pinnington
The jury were impressed with Imogen’s portfolio and her sensitivity to the place of her birth, especially in consideration of local heritage values. Her carefully considered approach, substantiated by nuanced drawings that reveal architectural delight, was evident in explorations and provocative augmentations of key colonial sites in Southern Tasmania.

Imogen will benefit from professional experience, to which she is undoubtedly ready.

Yao Tian (YT)
Reminded of Eileen Gray’s quote that ‘to create, one must first question everything’, the jury were impressed by the enquiring mind of YT. As evidenced by his portfolio he is a highly motivated, technically dexterous designer with enormous potential.

His enthusiastic pursuit of complex topics impressed the jury, as did the weave of variables informing his problem-solving approach. Already benefitting from practice experience, his enthusiasm and desire to consider challenging concepts will continue to inform his pursuit of architecture.

YT’s communication skills, together with his clearly evident design potential and an enthusiasm to practice, also make him a worthy recipient of the Barry McNeill Graduate Prize.


The shortlisted students also included Rui Shen Chong, Selena Ye Yang, Genevieve Van Den Bosch and Kylie Harvey.

The annually awarded prize is made possible by prize sponsors, JAWS Architects and VOS Construction and Joinery, and the jury, who this year consisted of Neal Mackintosh of JAWS Architects, Mark Millhouse, Construction Manager, Southern Tasmania and Business Development Manager, Tasmania, from VOS Construction, Leigh Woolley, of Leigh Woolley Architects, and Megan Baynes, City of Hobart Cultural Heritage Officer.

The prizes will be awarded at an exhibition launch on Friday 26 November, at the Tasmanian Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects, 1/19a Hunter Street, Hobart, at 6.00 pm, where the shortlisted student work is on display.