Australian Institute of Architects recognises outstanding contributions to architecture in NSW

The Australian Institute of Architects recognises the outstanding achievements and contribution of individuals and practices to the architecture profession in NSW with the announcement of the 2019 New South Wales prize winners and new Fellows and Life Fellows.

The prizes and honours celebrate a diverse array of architectural work, encompassing culture and literature, excellence in practice, emerging perspectives on design in the public realm, distinctive bodies of work by female architects, projects and practices driven to advance the rights of Aboriginal and Torres Strait people, and recognition of individuals’ contributions to the profession.

NSW Chapter President Kathlyn Loseby said ‘In addition to our established prizes, we are thrilled to award three new prizes in 2019 – Reconciliation, Christopher Procter and Best in Practice – and on the theme of firsts it is fitting that we host this special occasion at the remarkable Joynton Avenue Creative Centre, which in 2018 earned our inaugural NSW Architecture Medallion, the highest distinction in the prestigious NSW Architecture Awards program.

‘Across all categories each entry promoted inspirational qualities that reflect the value of quality architecture, improving where we work, live and play,’ Ms Loseby added.

Awarded to an outstanding piece of architectural reporting and criticism, Catherine Hunter and Bruce Inglis won the Adrian Ashton prize for her documentary ‘Glenn Murcutt: Spirit of Place.’ The work demonstrates the power of architecture to create a dialogue that brings diverse communities together.

BVN leadership and their progressive approach to all aspects of workplace culture, including equality, diversity, engagement and empowerment, saw the practice awarded the Best in Practice Prize.

The Christopher Procter and David Lindner prizes help support emerging architects to research a body of work throughout the year to enrich their professional development and add value to industry outcomes. This year Hannah Slater won both prizes for her research proposals ‘Altogether now: seeking an integrated approach for urban renewal’ and ‘Alone together: addressing urban isolation in Australian cities’, respectively.

Abbie Galvin’s inspirational contribution to the profession was acknowledged through the Marion Mahony Griffin Prize. Named for the pioneering woman architect, Marion Mahony Griffin, the prize acknowledges a distinctive body of work by a woman, for their contribution to architectural education, journalism, research, theory, professional practice or built architectural work.

Winning the Reconciliation Prize, the University of Sydney’s Wingara Mura-Bunga Barrabugu Strategy was recognised for the creation of a visionary framework to celebrate Aboriginal and Torres Islander cultures and values by setting a benchmark for the design of space and place that is culturally inclusive.

Caroline Pidcock LFRAIA was the recipient of the 2019 NSW President’s Prize for her outstanding contribution to the architecture profession over many years.

‘Caroline has distinguished herself through her contribution to the profession and built environment more broadly as president of many organisations. Today Caroline spearheads the Architects Declare movement in Australia, advocating regenerative design to address the climate and biodiversity emergency,’ said Ms Loseby.

In addition to prize winners the Institute acknowledged three new Life Fellows – Angelo Candalepas LFRAIA (Angelo Candalepas Associates), Helen Lochhead LFRAIA National President Australian Institute of Architects (UNSW) and Philip Thalis LFRAIA Hill Thalis Architecture & Urban Projects – as well as 15 new Fellows.

Ms Loseby stated, ‘Life Fellow is the highest honour class of Institute membership and the class of Fellow marks the achievement of significant professional milestone and the high standing a member has attained within the profession.’

The 2020 program will continue to celebrate excellence in architecture and showcase the extraordinary work our profession is uniquely capable of contributing to the built environment and the communities it serves.

Notes to the editor
More information on the prizes, winners, Life fellows and Fellows and images available in link:

For media inquiries contact:
Wilma Walsh
Communications Officer, NSW
Australian Institute of Architects
M. +61 (0) 421 012 566

Full list of winners by prize category below:

Adrian Ashton Prize
Catherine Hunter and Bruce Inglis – ‘Glenn Murcutt: Spirit of Place’

Best in Practice Prize

Commendation – MHNDU
Commendation – SJB

Christopher Procter Prize

Hannah Slater – ‘Altogether now: seeking an integrated approach for urban renewal’

David Lindner Prize
Hannah Slater – ‘Alone together: addressing urban isolation in Australian cities’

Marion Mahony Griffin Prize
Abbie Galvin FRAIA

Reconciliation Prize
University of Sydney – Wingara Mura-Bunga Barrabugu: a thinking path to make tomorrow’s strategy

Commendation – Kaunitz Yeung Architecture
Commendation – Kamay Botany Bay National Park Masterplan, Neeson Murcutt + Neille with Sue Barnsley Design and Freeman Ryan Design

NSW President’s Prize
Caroline Pidcock LFRAIA