Architecture’s influencers honoured at Australian Achievement in Architecture Awards

Leaders of the profession have been honoured at the 2016 Australian Achievement in Architecture Awards announced at a special ceremony at the Adelaide Oval on Friday 29 April.

The recipients, from students to stalwarts, were rewarded for their ongoing dedication to architecture across a range of activities including education, sustainability and international endeavours.

ARM Architecture founders – Stephen Ashton, Howard Raggatt and Ian McDougall – received the Australian Institute of Architects’ highest honour, the Gold Medal.

Architect Peter Maddison, best known as host of Grand Designs Australia, was awarded the National President’s Prize by Jon Clements ‘in recognition of his significant service to architecture outside practice’.

The Neville Quarry Architectural Education Prize was presented to Professor Michael Ostwald, the Dean of Architecture and Built Environment at the University of Newcastle. In awarding the honour the jury highlighted ‘his outstanding contributions in all areas of architectural education, the national and international impacts of which resonate beyond the university system’.

In recognition of exceptional contributions to sustainability above and beyond environmental factors to powerful social and economic models, Jeremy McLeod of Breathe Architecture in Melbourne received the Leadership in Sustainability Prize. Breathe Architecture continues to make headlines with their multi-housing projects The Commons and Nightingale.

New York-based renderer, Brian Burr was honoured with the William J Mitchell International Chapter Prize. Burr has worked in New York for 40 years and has ‘established himself as a highly respected and sought-after architectural renderer for a significant and diverse group of international practitioners – all unified by their respect for his artistic ability and his personal camaraderie’.

Amy Muir, of Melbourne practice Muir Architecture, was the recipient of the National Emerging Architect Prize in recognition of her significant contributions to the profession through design excellence, education and industry leadership.

A strong advocate for Australian students of architecture, Peter Nguyen from the University of Sydney was the recipient of the 2016 Student Prize for the Advancement of Architecture.
Five emerging architects from around the country were selected for the Dulux Study Tour. Chris Gilbert, Hannah Slater, Qianyi Lim, Matthew van Kooy and Katy Moir will visit practices in Copenhagen, London and Madrid during the two week tour in May.

Full list of winners:

Gold Medal
Stephen Ashton, Howard Raggatt and Ian McDougall – ARM Architecture (Vic)

National President’s Prize
Peter Maddison – Grand Designs Australia, Maddison Architects (Vic)

Neville Quarry Architectural Education Prize
Professor Michael Ostwald – University of Newcastle (NSW)

Leadership in Sustainability Prize
Jeremy McLeod – Breathe Architecture (Vic)

William J Mitchell International Chapter Prize
Brian Burr – Architectural Renderer (New York)

National Emerging Architect Prize
Amy Muir – Muir Architecture (Vic)

Student Prize for the Advancement of Architecture
Peter Nguyen (NSW)

Dulux Study Tour
Chris Gilbert – Archier (Tas)
Katy Moir – Troppo Architects (NT)
Hannah Slater – Architectus Brisbane (Qld)
Qianyi Lim – Sibling (Vic)
Mathew van Kooy – John Wardle Architects (Vic)