ACT Architecture Awards honour students, emerging architects and industry leaders

David Clarke, Principal of Clarke Keller Architecture, has been announced as the recipient of the 2013 President’s Medal at the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2013 ACT Architecture Awards tonight, Saturday 22 June, at the National Arboretum.

‘It is with great pleasure that I award the 2013 President’s Medal to the optimistic, witty and Renaissance “man for all seasons”, David Clarke,’ ACT Chapter President, Tony Trobe said.

‘David brings passion, energy and wit to the chapter in his roles as Chair of the Practice and CPD Committee and member of Chapter Council, and drives our dialogue with the government’s procurement services almost single-handedly.

‘He represents all that you could hope for in a chapter member. He is the oil in the machine. The President’s Medal is about recognising individuals and there is no more appropriate recipient.’

The 2013 Clem Cummings Medal was awarded to Ian Wood-Bradley, Urban Development Strategy and Policy Advisor in the Office of the Coordinator General within the ACT Government.

Awarded in recognition of the contributions non-architects make to the field of architecture and the public interest, the 2013 Medal has been presented to a ‘passionate advocate for design and place-making’.

‘Ian is a natural and valuable ally to the architectural profession, a Trojan horse within the structure of local planning,’ Mr Trobe said.

Founding Director of Jigsaw Housing, Andrew Verri, has received the ACT Emerging Architect Prize.

‘Andrew’s commitment to smaller, smarter, sustainable homes is providing significant leadership within the architectural profession and the residential construction industry more broadly,’ the jury noted.

Aliki George has been awarded the 2012 ACT Chapter Student Medallion for attaining the highest grade point average over the five years of her architectural education at the University of Canberra.

The 2012 recipient of the John Redmond Prize, awarded for the highest achievement during the first three years of architectural studies, is Alexander Gorecki.

Sarah Herbert is the 2012 recipient of the Institute’s Daryl Jackson Alastair Swayn Graduate Prize. The prize is awarded for attaining the highest grade point average over the two years of the Master of Architecture course at the University of Canberra.

Three students were recognised in the Cox Architecture Student Design Prize, established to engage students in the profession through submission of an architecture designed project completed in their previous year of study at the University of Canberra.

Melanie Schonfeld received the top prize for her project, Spatial Resonance – Piano Museum.

Commendations for the Cox Architecture Student Design Prize were awarded to Alexander Gorecki for Lodge on the Lake and Sarah Herbert for Piano Museum.


For media enquiries contact:

Alexandra Cato

National Media and Communications Officer

Australian Institute of Architects

P. + 61 (3) 8620 3813


The Australian Institute of Architects is the peak body for the architectural profession, representing almost 12,000 members across Australia and overseas. The Institute actively works to improve the quality of our built environment by promoting quality, responsible and sustainable design. Learn more about the Institute, log on to