Honouring excellence in the design and construction industry, the Australian Institute of Architects’ annual WA Architecture Awards celebrate the significant contribution architects make to the quality of the built environment.

With 80 entries across 11 categories, this year’s awards showcase a diverse range of projects including the restoration of the historic Melbourne Hotel, a new Health and Science precinct at Curtin University’s Midland Campus, student accommodation and coworking
hub Campus Perth and Raine Square’s redevelopment.

Australian Institute of Architects WA Chapter President Peter Hobbs says this year, the entries reflect the demand for buildings to deliver multi-functional spaces, sustainably minded solutions and necessary amenity for rapidly evolving places and communities.

“A common thread amongst this year’s entries is a true consideration and ingrained understanding of place and purpose from the architects,” Mr Hobbs said.

“From reimagined inner-city corridors, to flexible student accommodation with a ‘social heart’ and a regional community hub which provides a library, early-leaning centre and a skate park amongst other facilities, this year’s entries strike a balance between flexibility
and design.

“Intelligence to do more with less is demonstrated across the full breadth of projects, including the revival of a heritage listed hotel, residential projects restrained to only two or three core building materials and large-scale towers utilising rainwater harvesting for residents,” said Mr Hobbs.

Due to the current COVID-19 climate and national social distancing restrictions, the Australian Institute of Architects will be conducting the Exhibition of Entries and Presentation Evening virtually this year.

The highly anticipated Presentation Evening will be held via live stream on Friday June 26th with architects, builders, sponsors, jury members and the wider design community invited to tune in and enjoy the live event.

With entries across 11 categories and three sub-categories, the awards program is reflective of the high number of quality projects being completed at a state level across a range of building types.

Projects recognised as Named* and Architecture Award* winners in each category will progress to the National Architecture Awards to be judged against the very best architectural works in the country.

The Presentation Evening will be streamed live from 5pm AWST on Friday 26th June and can be accessed via www.youtube.com/user/AusArchitects/live

The award categories are as follows:

1. Residential Architecture – Houses (New) 14 entries
2. Residential Architecture – Houses (Multiple Houses) 11 entries
3. Residential Architecture – Houses (Alterations and Additions) 8 entries
4. Commercial Architecture 3 entries
5. Public Architecture 9 entries
6. Educational Architecture 11 entries
7. Urban Design 7 entries
8. Interior Architecture 7 entries
9. Small Project Architecture 5 entries
10. Heritage Architecture 2 entries
11. Enduring Architecture Award 3 entries

Sub- categories:

12. Sustainable Architecture – 6 entries
13. COLORBOND ® Award for Steel Architecture – 4 entries
14. The WA Lighting Award – 11 entries

The Australian Institute of Architects acknowledges our corporate partners.
National Category Partners: Fielders, Dulux and BlueScope
State Category Partners: Rondo, FMC HomeGuard, USG Boral, Mondoluce, Living Edge and Austim

Key dates:
Virtual Presentation Evening | Friday 26th June 2020
Open to members and non-members via  ww.youtube.com/user/AusArchitects/live
Virtual Exhibition of Entries | https://bit.ly/WAArchitectureAwards

For media enquiries contact:
Hayley Sarre
Detail Marketing Communications
M. + 61 (0)449 202 945

*Awards in each category are based on a three-tier system in decreasing order of merit.
Named Award: The first and highest award in each category, given to the work judged to be the most significant for the advancement of
architecture in each category.
Architecture Award: This is the second tier – recognising work of excellence demonstrating consummate architectural skill that
contributes to the advancement of architecture.
Commendation: This is the third tier – for projects of special merit, demonstrating significant architectural skill.
All projects recognised with a Named Award and an Architecture Award in each state are eligible for national awards.