2020 National Architecture Awards Jury Announced

We’re excited to announce the Jury for the 2020 National Architecture Awards. Selected for their design expertise and passion for Australian Architecture, the jurors bring a wealth of experience and an array of valuable perspectives. Tasked with evaluating and deciding on the very best architecture across Australia, the five jury members are extremely well placed to lead the 2020 Awards.

On the 2020 National Architecture Awards Jury

Professor Helen Lochhead – Jury Chair (UNSW), LFRAIA AILA MPIA AIA(Hon) RIBA MRAIC(Hon) FAICD

Helen Lochhead is cross-disciplinary, an architect and urbanist who combines academic and advisory roles with practice. Her career has focused on the planning, design and delivery of complex public projects ranging from a city improvements programs to major urban regeneration and waterfront projects both in Australia and the US.

Her projects have received numerous awards including AIA Architecture and Urban Design Awards and AILA Urban Design and Sustainability Awards. As well her contribution to practice has been recognised through, the AFRs 2019 ‘100 Women of Influence’,  AIA Paula Whitman Prize, Marion Mahony Griffin Prizes, the NAWIC Vision Award for leadership in the construction industry and the AIA NSW President’s Prize.

She has held numerous leadership positions in private practice, government and universities including her current role as Dean of the Faculty of Built Environment at UNSW, Sydney. Her expertise is regularly sought on independent planning and design panels, and competition juries.

Kerry Clare (Clare Design), LFRAIA

Kerry Clare, a director of Clare Design since 1979 has produced a diverse range of architectural projects, from major urban and public buildings to small and self-sufficient houses. Kerry and Lindsay Clare received the Australian Institute of Architects Gold Medal in 2010 for their contribution to the advancement of architecture and particularly sustainable architecture.

Clare Design has received over 50 Institute awards for public, educational, commercial, housing, environmental and recycling projects. Exhibitions of the work have been held in New York, Tokyo, Venice, Milan, Barcelona, Santiago, Mexico City and in Australia. Kerry is presently a Visiting Professor at the Abedian School of Architecture, Bond University and a member of the City of Sydney Design Advisory Panel.

Dr Tim Greer (Tonkin Zulaikha Greer Architects), FRAIA

Dr Tim Greer is a director of Tonkin Zulaikha Greer Architects and has an interest in existing urban fabric and the cultural elements it embodies. He treats each project as an individual opportunity to create fresh contemporary forms, using current construction techniques. Tim’s work ranges across Masterplanning, Urban Design Architecture and Interior Design. Multi-award winning projects under Greer’s Directorship combine urban renewal with new cultural uses.

Tim is currently an Adjunct Professor of Architecture at Sydney University and holds a Doctorate in Architecture and Design from RMIT in Melbourne. His contribution to architecture was acknowledged by the Sydney Morning Herald‘s ‘Sydney’ magazine in their annual 100 Most Influential People issue, 2010

Jennie Officer (Officer Woods Architects), RAIA

Jennie is a founding director at Officer Woods Architects and a Senior Lecturer in the School of Design at the University of Western Australia. The diverse built work of Officer Woods has been published and awarded at state and national level across categories including public architecture, single and multiple residential design, small project design, suburban renewal and sustainability.

Jennie is a previous winner of the WA State Emerging Architect Award (2010) and The Gil Nico l Travel Prize (2013) for enhancement of the built environment in Western Australia. She combines a number of roles in professional life: practitioner, teacher, researcher and advocate. She makes regular contributions to architectural dialogue and knowledge by review, presentation and publication, and has served as a jury member at both State and National level for peer- reviewed awards programs. She is a current member of the inaugural WA State Design Review Panel and the City of Fremantle Design Advisory Committee.

Jefa Greenaway (Wailwan|Kamilaroi) (Greenaway Architects), RAIA

Jefa Greenaway is founding Director of the award winning practice, Greenaway Architects (est. 1998), a University of Melbourne senior academic of two decades standing, and a regular design commentator on ABC Radio Melbourne. He’s championed Indigenous led design thinking for over 25 years as a registered architect in NSW and VIC, including as co-founder of Indigenous Architecture + Design Victoria (not-for-profit), as co-author of the International Indigenous Design Charter, and as Regional Ambassador (Oceania) of INDIGO (International Indigenous Design Network).

He’s a founding signatory of Architects Declare Australia an initiative foregrounding architecture’s role in to tackling the challenges of climate change and biodiversity loss, is co-curator (with Tristan Wong) of the Australian exhibition at La Biennale Architettura di Venezia 2020/21 and was recently inducted into the Design Institute of Australia’s 2020 ‘Hall of Fame’ signifying an outstanding body of work, contribution to Australian design and achievement in furthering the profession.

This form is now closed.