From the National President

28 Mar 2016

The first National Council meeting of the year was held from 17 to 18 March in Canberra.

Our newly elected National Councillors include Rob Henry, ACT Chapter President; Bruce Wolfe, Qld Chapter President; Andrew Broffman, NT Chapter President; Vanessa Bird, Vic Chapter President; Clare Cousins, Nationally Elected Councillor and Richard Kirk, Nationally Elected Councillor. One of our key items on the agenda was the Election of Office Bearers. I would like to congratulate Richard Kirk who was elected as our next National President (following Ken Maher) and Helen Lochhead and Philip Griffiths who were elected as Honorary Treasurer and Honorary Secretary respectively.

Our new Executive Committee now comprises:

President: Jon Clements
President Elect: Ken Maher
Immediate Past President: David Karotkin
Incoming President Elect: Richard Kirk
Hon Treasurer: Helen Lochhead
Hon Secretary: Philip Griffiths

The Governance Review was discussed at great length and the proposed changes to our constitutional changes were refined with input from the full council.

Last week we emailed members about the proposed changes to the Institute’s Governance structure and the draft submission is now online for review until 5 April. Your feedback is welcome and will be collated and considered by the Executive Committee and Clayton Utz. Any necessary amendments will be incorporated into the final submission, which will be detailed in the Notice of Annual General Meeting, issued to members with voting rights on 22 April. Feedback to date has been very encouraging and it is clearly an issue that many of you feel very passionate about. I encourage you to review the draft constitutional changes carefully and if you have any concerns or suggestions please detail your thoughts in an email to

Jon Clements