From the National President

Mar 16

It is a big week for us at the Institute.

On Thursday and Friday, National Council convenes in Melbourne. On the agenda is the induction of new councillors, including:

Brad Wheeler, Tasmanian Chapter President
Shaun Carter, NSW Chapter President
David Homburg, SA Chapter President
Sue Dugdale, Nationally Elected Councillor
Paul Violett, SONA President
Rob Henry, EmAGN President

During council, we will be electing the National President Elect, a new treasurer and a new secretary.

I would like to extend congratulations to our new councillors, and also to Phil Griffiths, WA Chapter President and Helen Lochhead, Nationally-Elected Councillor, who have both been re-elected for a second term. I look forward to working closely with you all, initially in my capacity as National President, then following the AGM as Immediate Past President.

Thursday also sees the presentation of the 2015 Australian Achievement in Architecture Awards at the NGV in Melbourne. These awards celebrate the people of our profession, those who contribute to society through architecture and the built environment.

The evening culminates with the announcement of the 2015 Gold Medallist, who will be giving a keynote address. Other awards include the National Presidents Prize, Leadership in Sustainability Prize, William J Mitchell International Area Committee Prize, Neville Quarry Architectural Education Prize, Student Prize for the Advancement of Architecture, Emerging Architects Prize, BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize and the announcement of the 2015 Dulux Study Tour winners. Be sure to follow us on the night on Twitter for the results as they happen.

Kind regards,
David Karotkin.