2024 Northern Territory Architecture Awards – Winners Revealed

Australia’s best new residential and commercial buildings have been named in the Australian Institute of Architects 2024 NT Chapter Architecture Awards, shining a light on the most innovative, sustainable and inspirational homes, commercial and community buildings. This year’s winners can be seen as a window into the changing built environment of contemporary Australia. In particular, the exemplary work that is being done in Australia’s regional areas; respectful and sustainable approaches to alterations of existing homes and public buildings; design that demonstrates what higher density living could and should look like; and design that has a deep connection, appreciation and consideration to Country.  

The 13 winners and commendations listed from the second page of this media release (full details and jury citations of winners and commendations from page three) were chosen by a jury of industry experts. Some of the winning projects in 2024 contain common themes that unite them. With world-class design examples of sustainability, adaptive reuse, dynamic collaboration between designers, connection to Country, thoughtful higher-density living, enhancement of educational experiences, supporting social equity, and generosity towards the broader community.

Jury Chair, Dino Vrynios RAIA, Das Studio explained …..

In the face of the various challenges confronting the planet and society today, good design has never been more important. And so, it is my sincere hope that with the annual awards program and beyond that we can as a profession take more time out to celebrate and champion each other’s achievements”, Said Vrynios

“The entries this year, while limited to the Darwin region, presented a diversity of scale, typology and context. However, what remained consistent in all projects was an endeavour and commitment by every architect and professional to pursue best for project, planet and people outcomes “, said Vrynios

The jury also observed this year more than ever, that collaboration between architects on projects led to richer outcomes, especially in relation to communal buildings and spaces. The Jury lauds the architects not only for their values but also for their unwavering dedication to the projects”, said Vrynios

A comprehensive judging process determined the eventual winners which included public presentations to industry and affiliates. The Jury took their time with each project and asked a series of questions at both the presentations and during site visits.

Each year, the NT Chapter Architecture Awards juries includes a venerated panel of industry experts. This year the jury comprised of:

  • Dino Vrynios RAIA, MArch, Managing Director, Das Studio (Adelaide)
  • Rebecca Adams RAIA, MArch Design Manager, Sitzler
  • Karen Walsh, ANZOG, MPublic Administration, GAICD, Hon.Assoc UTS Inst Public Policy & Governance, Chief Executive Officer, Venturer Housing
  • Maiya McKenna, Associate RAIA, MArch – Emerging Architect Prize Juror and EmAGN Project Juror
  • Steve Huntingord, LFRAIA, Steve Huntingford Architecture – Emerging Architect Prize Juror

The Australian Institute of Architects’ 2024 NT Chapter Architecture Awards will be revealed on 1 June 2024 at an event at Poolside, Novotel Airport Resort, Darwin

2024 Winners

Colorbond® Award for Steel Architecture

  • Larrakeyah: Shared User Facility | BVN | Traditional Owners: Larrakia

Commercial Architecture

  • The Peter Dermoudy Award for Commercial Architecture | Larrakeyah: Shared User | BVN | Traditional Owners: Larrakia

Enduring Architecture

  • Wesleyan Methodist Church | The Architects Studio Pty Ltd | Traditional Owners: Larrakia

Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing

  • The Ken Frey Award for Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing | Nungalinya | Incidental Architecture | Traditional Owners: Larrakia

Small Project Architecture

  • The Yali-McNamara Award for Small Project Architecture | Melaleuca Australia Courtyard Shade Structure | Hames Sharley Studio NT Pty Ltd | Traditional Owners: Larrakia

Sustainable Architecture

  • Award for Sustainable Architecture | Nungalinya | Incidental Architecture | Traditional Owners: Larrakia


The Tracy Memorial Award

  • Nungalinya | Incidental Architecture | Traditional Owners: Larrakia

Indigenous Community Architecture  

  • Nungalinya | Incidental Architecture | Traditional Owners: Larrakia

Educational Architecture – Commendation

  • Dripstone Middle School STEAM Centre | Hames Sharley NT Pty Ltd | Traditional Owners: Larrakia

EMAGN Project  Award

  • Melaleuca Australia Courtyard Shade Structure| Hames Sharley NT Pty Ltd | Traditional owners: Larrakia

People’s Choice Award

  • Nungalinya | Incidental Architecture | Traditional Owners: Larrakia

Emerging Architect Prize

  • Katy Moir

Student Prize

  • Jomar Benison


A media gallery with images of the winning projects is available through this link here.

For all media inquiries, please contact: Raquel Nicholls-Skene, Executive Director, NT Chapter on behalf of the Australian Institute of Architects | Raquel.ns@architecture.com.au 0403023425

This form is now closed.