SWT Blythe Student Prize 2020 – Call for Entries

The SWT Blythe Student Prize is awarded annually to a student for a piece of work produced in the preceding academic year from the University of Tasmania’s Architecture & Design courses.


Eligibility: The Prize is open to students who have been enrolled at any level of the Architecture / Environmental Design course at the University of Tasmanian during 2019.

Prize value: There is a cash prize of $400, payable to the Prize recipient. The TAS Chapter will also assist the recipient with arrangements to spend a period of time (a minimum of two weeks) in an architectural office or allied organisation of the student’s choice. The offer to assist is valid for twelve months from the presentation of the Prize. The recipient must meet any travel or related costs associated with the work experience.

Closing date: Entries close Friday, 17 April 2020, at 5 pm.

Cost: Free to Institute SONA Members & Graduate Members. A $50 entry fee applies for non-members.

Presentation: The Prize will be announced and presented at the annual Tasmanian Architecture Awards Presentation Event.


Submission requirements

  1. Submission material should be in its original format as submitted to the University of Tasmania for assessment, in digital format, and be fully explanatory. This year, no hard copies will be accepted.
  2. Submissions shall include the original project brief.
  3. Up to 10 individual images are required to accompany the submission (which should be drawn from the original project), which can include plans, elevations, photos of models, renders etc, suitable for publication on the Institute website, social media, and awards bulletin.

By submitting an entry for this Prize, you agree to abide by the rules and conditions. Late entries will not be accepted and the decision of the jury is final. You declare that you are the student who carried out the work submitted (or are an authorised member of the group who carried out the work). Should your submission to the Prize be related to your income generating work, you may be liable for tax on the value of the Prize, if you are its recipient. Please obtain your own tax advice.


Please contact Fiona.McMullen@architecture.com.au for more information.

Entry details

Please attach your submission material (pdf, jpg and png files only). Total max 10MB. If files are too large, email dropbox or similar file share link to fiona.mcmullen@architecture.com.au.

The Tasmanian Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects is pleased to announce the 2020 Tasmanian SWT Blythe student prize Jury:

SWT Blythe Student Prize 2020 Jury

  • Stuart Tanner RAIA | Stuart Tanner Architects
  • Pippa Jensen RAIA | Cumulus Studio
  • Garth Ancher RAIA | Preston Lane Architects
Stuart Tanner - 2020 SWT Blythe Student Prize Jury
Stuart Tanner

STUART TAnner | Stuart Tanner Architects

Stuart Tanner is the founding Director of STA, an established Architecture practice based in Hobart with a spectrum of residential, commercial and Government projects.
Stuart Tanner is an active and contributing corporate member of the Australian Institute of Architects, having lectured publicly on a range of architecture & socially related issues. He has formerly been Chair of the Institute’s Public Affairs Committee, and previously served on the Institute’s Tasmanian Chapter Council for four years. Stuart has been a juror on the Institute’s Tasmanian Chapter Awards Jury for the 2007 & 2013 Australian Institute of Architects Tasmanian Awards, as well as a Triennial Juror in 2015. He has been an active convener of Hobart Architecture Week and is a current sitting member of the Institute’s Practice Committee.

Stuart is happily married with two daughters and is a keen ocean swimmer, surfer and musician.

Pippa Jensen - 2020 SWT Blythe Student Prize Jury
Pippa Jensen

PIPPA JENSEN | Cumulus Studio

Pippa joined Cumulus Studio in late 2015 after graduating from the University of Tasmania with a Masters of Architecture. Now a Registered Architect, Pippa’s growing portfolio of projects demonstrates her astute attention to detail and collaborative design approach. With an enviable dedication to her craft, Pippa works closely with her clients to thoughtfully incorporate the diverse, often complex end-user requirements of every project.

A dedicated industry advocate, Pippa is currently a committee member of the Emerging Architecture Graduate Network, The Findlay Project (North) and is a Australian Institute of Architects Tasmanian Chapter Councillor. She also makes time to tutor at the UTAS School of Architecture and Design.

Outside of the office Pippa is a keen traveller with a deep connection to the outdoors. Her passion for bushwalking, camping and food, sees her regularly set off in search of inspiring new places across Tasmania, Australia and beyond.

Garth Ancher - 2020 SWT Blythe Student Prize Jury
Garth Ancher

Garth Ancher | Preston lane

Garth has almost 20 years’ experience in architecture, including designing residential projects that have won national and international awards. He completed a Bachelor of Environmental Design and Bachelor of Architecture (honours first class) at the University of Tasmania in 2005.

Since then he has worked in Europe and Australia on commercial, multi-residential and public buildings, and bespoke interior fit-outs for retail and hospitality projects.

He has recently returned to Tasmania with his young family where he works for his recently established firm Ancher Architecture Office and as a Project Architect with Preston Lane. Garth is a registered architect in Tasmania and Victoria.