Introducing the 2024 Tasmanian Architecture Awards Jury

The Australian Institute of Architects Tasmanian Chapter is delighted to unveil the jury for the 2024 Tasmanian Architecture Awards. The awards offer an unrivalled opportunity to showcase the extraordinary depth and breadth of Tasmania’s architectural talent.

Architects will present their projects to the jury on Saturday 2 March and members and the public are invited to watch these presentations. 

Fred Ward FRAIA - Jury Chair | 1+2 Architecture

Fred is a founding director of 1+2 Architecture and is an experienced registered architect. His strengths lie in directing complex and demanding design processes and working closely with clients, consultants and contractors to achieve optimum outcomes. His experience has honed the skills to design and co-ordinate multifaceted projects, often within demanding budget and time constraints.

Fred graduated with Honours from the University of Tasmania in 1992, became registered while working in Victoria in 1998 and went on to practise in London on projects across Europe and the USA before returning to his home state of Tasmania.

Fred is an active member of the Australian Institute of Architects, and has been an invited final year tutor and examiner at the University of Tasmania’s School of Architecture.

Fred is passionate about promoting the value of architecture in contributing to well-being and improving the quality, sustainability and functionality of the places we live, work and visit. His breadth of experience across a large range of project typologies locally, nationally and internationally has provided understanding as to the complexities and challenges faced by architects in achieving design excellence.


Pippa is an arts leader and board director with over 20 years of experience in leading and managing creative, cultural and community projects across Australia and Asia with a focus on fostering local and international collaboration and exchange. With experience as a business owner and as a director in the public (both not-for-profit and government) and private spheres, she has a strong background in entrepreneurship, public policy, strategy and community development.

Her previous positions include Director, Asialink Arts (University of Melbourne 2019-2023), Board Director of the National Association for Visual Artists (NAVA) and Co-Chair of the National Craft Initiative. She founded Design Island for Arts Tasmania, was Chair of Design Tasmania (2012-2018) and was the founding CEO of the Glenorchy Art & Sculpture Park. Pippa was awarded a PhD in 2007 from the University of Tasmania and in 2015 was recognised as one of the 50 most influential people in design by the Australian Centre for Design.

Currently, she serves as a board member of the ArtsPay Foundation, and the Ministerially appointed Australia Korea Foundation for the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.


Mark Stranan leads the multi-residential work at Austin Maynard Architects. Combining his 18 years of experience, detail-orientated nature, and team first mentality allows Mark to zero in on the moments that make the difference.

Since joining the practice in 2016, Mark has been tasked with bringing Austin Maynard’s renowned design ethos into the multi-residential sector. Mark’s recently completed projects include Terrace House, ParkLife & Slate House.

Austin Maynard Architects endeavour to put a positive spin on the inevitable issues that arise in design and development, turning difficulties into opportunities and negatives into joyful returns. Recently named International Architecture Studio of the Year by Dezeen, Austin Maynard Architects create resilient, highly sustainable, beautiful, robust and long lasting architecture; architecture designed to meet the challenges of the climate crisis.

Pippa Jensen RAIA | Pippa Architecture

Pippa has more than nine years of experience in architecture after graduating with a Master of Architecture in 2015 and becoming a Registered Architect in 2018.

Pippa was named the Australian Institute of Architect’s Tasmanian Emerging Architect in 2020, and has worked on several award-winning and industry-recognised projects.

Pippa worked for Cumulus Studio from 2015 to 2022 and has recently started her own practice, Pippa Architecture, in 2023, which focuses on prioritising the experience of place within a range of typologies including residential, heritage and tourism.

David Haseler RAIA | fjcstudio

David is a Principal of fjcstudio with more than 25 years experience in the disciplines of architecture and urban design.

Projects under David’s direction have covered a broad range of building types including public, commercial, educational, mixed-use and residential. He has led some of fjc’s largest and most complex projects to successful completion.

David was Project Principal for the Parliament Square redevelopment in Hobart for over ten years and continues to work on projects in Tasmania. He is looking forward to being a member of the 2024 Tasmania Architecture Awards jury and contributing to the recognition of excellence in design in Tasmania.

This form is now closed.