Announcing National President Elect Shannon Battisson

The Australian Institute of Architects is delighted to announce that ACT Chapter President Shannon Battisson has been named the next National President Elect. Shannon will commence this role on 12 May 2021 following the AGM and her presidency will begin in 2022, following Tony Giannone’s tenure.

Shannon will become the fourth ACT Chapter President that has gone on to be the National President. She follows the footsteps of Ric Butt (1997), Graham Humphries (1998) and Melinda Dodson (2009).

Shannon is director of The Mill Architecture and Design and has worked in architecture for more than 15 years, with projects in Canberra, across Australia and internationally in her extensive portfolio. She has previously held the role of Chair of the ACT chapter’s Sustainability Committee and was jointly presented the ACT President’s Medal in 2017. In 2018 Shannon was awarded the Australian Institute of Architects ACT Chapter Emerging Architect Prize.

Julia Cambage, CEO of the Australian Institute of Architects, said: “We are thrilled to welcome Shannon as the new President Elect. Shannon has been an active member of the Institute for many years and has shown extraordinary leadership, especially in the sustainability and advocacy spaces. I look forward to working alongside her as National President Elect and National President.”