

2021 Victorian Honours

2021 Australia Day Honours

Jill Garner AM LFRAIA For significant service to architecture, to professional associations, and to education.

2021 Queen's Birthday Honours

Charles Justin AM LFRAIA

For significant service to the museums sector, to arts administration, and to architecture.

Nonda Katsalidis AM FRAIA

For significant service to architecture, and to sustainable construction innovations.

Shelley Penn AM LFRAIA

For significant service to architecture and design in the public realm, and to professional institutes.

Roger Poole OAM LFRAIA

For service to architecture, and to the community.

2021 Victorian Graduate Prize

Ashlee Murphy for From the Broken

The jury commend the sensitivity, clarity, and level of resolution exhibited in *From the Broken*. The project elegantly navigates a complex and sensitive topic by proposing a considered place of respite and sanctuary for those escaping domestic abuse. *From the Broken* is a human-centred project that aims to remove stigma and instill dignity to a group often underrepresented in architecture. Rigorous research, and conceptual clarity has resulted in a carefully considered architectural response.

In considering trauma recovery Ashlee has explored how buildings can aid healing by creating curated spaces of reprieve and protection. This is exhibited in the consideration of siting, scale, formal composition, and detailed material resolution. Congratulations Ashlee on producing a holistic and resolved project in negotiating an important and complex issue.

2021 Honorary Membership

Stephen Crafti Hon. RAIA

2021 Honorary Fellowship

Debbie Ryan Hon. FRAIA

2021 Fellows

Ann Lau FRAIA Bill Krotiris FRAIA Bryce Raworth FRAIA Catherine Duggan FRAIA Ingrid Bakker FRAIA Jeremy McLeod FRAIA Lucinda McLean FRAIA

Marika Neustupny FRAIA Mark Burry AO FRAIA Matt Gibson FRAIA Nadine Samaha FRAIA Paul Katsieris FRAIA Ruth Wilson FRAIA Sarah Buckeridge FRAIA



2021 Life Fellowship

Robert Sinclair LFRAIA

Bob Sinclair has made a lasting contribution to the development and promotion of architecture throughout Australia including as member of the Board of Architectural Education and later chairman of the AIA Housing Awards, as well as architectural advisor to the Department of Justice, member of the Victorian Design Review Panel of the Office of Victorian Government Architect and as an educator at Deakin University, the University of Melbourne and RMIT.

He participated in the design of award-winning and significant civic buildings including the County Court of Victoria, and in 25 years with Daryl Jackson, was responsible for the design character of significant buildings such as the Canberra School of Art – awarded first Sir Zelman Cowen Architecture Prize in 1981– the Australian Defence Force Academy Indoor Sports Complex (Canberra Medallion 1987), the Australian Chancery Complex Riyadh Saudi Arabia (International Award 1991), Lake Gininderra College (Certificate of Merit 1988) the Hyatt Hotel Canberra and Bond University Queensland.

Sally Draper LFRAIA

Sally Draper's career demonstrates a deep commitment to architecture. Building on her experience as a director of Swaney Draper and her work with some of the UK's most respected architects, Sally established the consistently successful Sally Draper Architects.

Her career is characterised by her sustained professional relationships with institutional and education clients, her development of a contemporary rural residential language and her contribution to the Institute, Ormond College and Melbourne Grammar School. A focus on high-quality design and execution has been at the core of Sally's career. Her work has consistently been described as honest, timeless and enduring, and her professionalism, integrity and body of work make her a deserving Life Fellow.

2021 President's Prize

Bryan Miller LFRAIA

Bryan Miller's contribution extends beyond the projects in his practice, to assisting the profession at all levels. This includes teaching at RMIT and Melbourne University, coaching nearly four and a half thousand graduates preparing for registration, and many years as a Senior Counsellor and current Chair.

Working for a number of large practices from the early 1970s, including Daryl Jackson Architects and the Hassell Group, in 1992 he established his own practice; founded the Prahran Architects Group; and subsequently the Richmond Architects Group, whose monthly lunch meetings focus on architectural discussion and debate.

He has served on many industry, State and National Institute committees, was elected members' representative to National Council three times, and appointed chair of the Acumen Review Task Group.

Bryan's skill and knowledge are recognised by the legal firms who frequently request his services as an expert witness in construction cases. Generous with his time and willing to assist colleagues who seek his wise counsel, Bryan is a worthy recipient of the 2021 Victorian President's Medal.