From the National President

Richard Kirk

National President, Richard Kirk. Photo by Toby Scott


5 Mar 2018

Turnbull announces City Deal

The long awaited Western Sydney City Deal was confirmed by Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull on the weekend which sets out a grand vision for the growing city. This follows on from the first City Deal for Hobart in January and the Darwin City Deal announced late last year. Refer here for more details about yesterday’s announcement.

The Institute’s Student Organised Network for Architecture is celebrating its 20 year anniversary this year. This a great milestone to have attained and we thank all the SONA members and representatives over the last 20 years for their energy and enthusiasm that has certainly contributed to the Institute’s culture and sharpened our attention on the needs on the younger members of the profession. It is also pleasing to see how many of the SONA representatives have also moved into other leadership roles within the Institute. Please see more here regarding the celebrations and events to mark this great achievement.

Dulux Study Tour

Last week we announced the winners of the 2018 Dulux Study Tour and I was privileged to chair the jury for this important prize. I want to thank my colleagues on the jury for their wonderful support: Jennifer Cunich (Chief Executive Officer, Australian Institute of Architects), Richard Hansen (Dulux), Natalie Ruuska (Dulux), Ksenia Totoeva (EmAGN President, Australian Institute of Architects) and Adam Pustola (Dulux Study Tour Alumni). I also extend my congratulations to the winners who were selected from a field of 62 applicants. The Dulux Study Tour is one of the most important member engagement programs for emerging practitioners and I encourage you apply in the coming years to this generous program. Refer here for more.

National Council

The first National Council meeting will be held in Canberra later this month where our new Chapter Presidents and Nationally-Elected Councillors will be welcomed. Congratulations again to Amy Muir (Victoria), Paul Trotter (Queensland), Jenny Culgan (NT) and Philip Leeson (ACT) who will be representing their respective Chapters as their Presidents. I also congratulate our new Nationally-Elected Councillors Vanessa Bird, who is the outgoing Victorian Chapter President, and Justin Hill who will be the first International Chapter member on National Council.

The National Council meetings are an important opportunity for all States and Territories to share current issues and to explore how best to strategically respond to them as a National body. On behalf of the whole membership I would like to thank Andrew Broffman (NT), Rob Henry (ACT) and Bruce Wolfe (Queensland) for their tremendous contributions to National Council over the past two years.

Richard Kirk
National President