ACT’s top achievers in architecture recognised

The ACT Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects today recognised professionals and students who made an outstanding achievement to architecture.

ACT President Shannon Battisson said it was an honour to pay tribute to established architects and aspiring architects who had shown ingenuity, experimentation, and confidence in the work they had designed for Canberra and beyond.

The ACT Chapter’s prestigious President’s Medal was awarded to Cassandra Keller, Principal and Design Lead at Clarke Keller. With extensive experience in the design and construction sector over the last 25 years in Australia and the USA, Cassandra has demonstrated a long-standing commitment to the profession of architecture through her leadership, acumen in business, and significant contribution to innovative design and community making. Cassandra’s contribution to the profession of architecture is further demonstrated through her service to the Australian Institute of Architect’s ACT Chapter Council, the National Association of Women in Construction ACT and Property Council of Australia ACT.

“Cassandra is passionate about architecture and how it can change people’s lives. She is driven by a clear overarching design vision which places people at the centre of the design process,” Ms Battisson said.

“In public and private education architecture, this is about ensuring that people have access to empowering spaces. In retirement living and aged care design it is about creating spaces that feel like home.”

Canberra Modern, a passionate team of heritage and design practitioners was awarded the Clem Cummings Medal. The Medal recognises the contributions by those who are not architects to architecture and in the public interest.  Amy Jarvis, Rachel Jackson and Edwina Jans established Canberra Modern in 2016 to promote protection and appreciation of the places which make an irreplaceable contribution to Canberra’s historic urban and designed cultural landscape.

“With Canberra in danger of losing more of its mid-century buildings, Canberra Modern’s efforts in promoting the benefits of these buildings is critical both to save part of Canberra’s history but also to generate greater architectural tourism for Canberra,” Ms Battisson said.

The Architectural Professional Practitioner Award was awarded to Nathan Judd of This Award celebrates an ACT architectural professional who has demonstrated exemplary skills in the professional practice of architecture in 2020. Key competency areas include documentation and construction services, client leadership, design development and team management.

The ACT Chapter Student Medallion was awarded to Holly Caton and Rachel Clements. Holly and Rachel jointly received the 2019 ACT Chapter Medallion for attaining the highest grade point average over five years of architectural education at the University of Canberra.

Holly Caton and Rachel Clements were the 2019 co-recipients of the Institute’s Daryl Jackson Alastair Swayn Graduate Prize, awarded for attaining the highest grade point average over the two years of the Master of Architecture course at the University of Canberra.

Christine Palmer is the 2019 recipient of the John Redmond Prize, awarded for the highest achievement during the first three years of architectural studies at the University of Canberra.

Thank you to sponsors BCA Certifiers for support of the Architecture Professional Practitioner Award and DJAS Architecture for their support of the Daryl Jackson Alastair Swayn Graduate Prize.

Further information: Liz Lang on 0447 262 415