Victorian Chapter Prizes & Honours

Emerging Architect Prize

The Emerging Architect Prize recognises an individual emerging architect or emerging architectural collaboration’s contribution to architectural practice, education, design excellence and community involvement, which advances the profession’s role within the public arena. Entrants need to be nominated by a member of the Australian Institute of Architects. Winners at a Chapter level proceed to be considered for the National Emerging Architects Prize. 

Nominations are now open for the 2017 Emerging Architect Prize. Institute members are invited to nominate individuals or practices now. Victorian nominations close 7 August. Nominate here. 

The Emerging Architect Prize is proudly sponsored by AWS.

Congratulations to
Michael Roper who was awarded the 2016 Victorian Emerging Architect Prize on 8 December 2016.

Michael Roper, photograph by Hilary Walker

Michael Roper is the 2016 recipient of the Victorian Emerging Architect Prize. 
The judging panel was impressed by the excellence, depth and consistency demonstrated in Michael’s commitment to architecture, education, research and the profession over the past ten years. The work of Architecture Architecture, founded in 2012 with Nick James, is inventive and ambitious, receiving a number of accolades and wide publication. 

Michael has contributed significantly to the Australian Institute of Architects in a number of leadership roles, including three years curating monthly design talk series PROCESS where his collegiate style was greatly admired, and as Chair of the Victorian EmAGN group, VYAG. He was the founding Academic Program Manager for the ANCB Architecture School in Berlin and now serves on the University of Melbourne’s Architecture Advisory Board. Michael has also taught extensively at the University of Melbourne and RMIT University since 2005.  

His advocacy for the profession through writing, public talks, exhibitions and radio appearances demonstrates his ability to communicate widely and effectively. Michael is a supportive and generous leader of his peers, graduates and students.


President's Prize

First awarded in 2000, the President's Prize is awarded annually to recognise an individual or company for outstanding achievement or contribution towards the profession over a period of time. The 2016 President’s Prize was awarded to Open House Melbourne.

Open House Melbourne is the recipient of the 2016 Victorian Chapter President’s Prize for celebrating Melbourne’s architecture by providing behind-the-scenes access to treasured historic and contemporary buildings. Through a commitment to community engagement the Open House Melbourne weekend educates and advocates for design excellence while fostering local pride in Melbourne’s built environment. 

Since 2008 Open House Melbourne has become a highlight of Melbourne’s crowded annual calendar. By opening Melbourne’s off-limits and culturally significant public buildings, its mysterious and treasured buildings, and its private new buildings, Open House Melbourne has allowed the general public to demonstrate in their tens of thousands, their enthusiasm for their city. 

On the eve of their tenth anniversary I congratulate Open House Melbourne on their commitment to public engagement with architecture, and their ability to initiate, maintain and expand this outstanding public program that experientially advocates for good design and the importance of architecture.

Open House Melbourne, being awarded the President's
Prize on 8 December, 2016. 

Graduate Prize

The Australian Institute of Architects’ Victorian Graduate Prize Program provides recognition and encouragement for architecture graduates as they embark on their professional careers. It involves the architect’s professional association, the Australian Institute of Architects, supporting architectural practices and/or industry related organisations in Victoria.

The aim of the prize is to:
-               encourage a better understanding of becoming an architect
-               promote a positive outlook regarding the profession’s support for graduates
-               promote registration
-               involve practices in the training and professional development of graduates and
-               support the transition from education to the profession

The 2017 judges were Vanessa Bird, Alan Pert, Michael Roper and Andrew Lilleyman.

The winner of the 2017 Victoria Graduate Prize was announced on Saturday 25 March coinciding with the Presentation to Juries event at the University of Melbourne. 

Congratulations to the 2017 Victorian Graduate Prize winner Tommy Aik Heng from The University of Melbourne for the project ‘The Selfless Gene, An Independent Architectural Design Thesis’.

2017 Winner:
Tommy Aik Heng – The University of Melbourne

High Commendations:
Monique Banks – RMIT University
Ariani Anwar - The University of Melbourne

Arshadul Ibad Mohd Faudzi – Deakin University 

The Victorian Chapter is pleased to announce the supporting partners of the 2017 Victorian Graduate Prize: Bates Smart, Cox Architecture, Fender Katsalidis, Grimshaw Architects, Hayball and Architect Registration Board of Victoria

Architectural Student Ideas Prize

The 2015 competition sought schemes from students from four Universities across Melbourne, to achieve significant benefits or enhance the quality of the public and built environment for the general community. Students were asked to respond to the ‘Market Place’ brief based on the City of Melbourne’s Queen Victoria Market Precinct Renewal Draft Master Plan which outlines the Victorian Government and City of Melbourne aspirations for revitalising the market precinct.

The 2015 judges were Mark Allan, Peter Bickle, Ann Lau and guest judge Fiona Whitworth.

The winner of the 2015 Architectural Student Ideas Prize was announced on Tuesday 15 December. Congratulations to Yuchen Zuo from RMIT for her 'Inviting Monuments' scheme which selected as the 2015 winner. 

Yuchen Zuo, Inviting Monuments

Anabell Rodriguez, Sample Sale
Paula Panopoulos, Fragmented
Karl Martin, Fundamental
Yonina Garfield, Undermarket
Ka Hei Sara Chan, Scatter City

Student Prize

The BlueScope Steel Glenn Murcutt Student Prize was established in 2005 to recognise outstanding architectural student work which demonstrates excellence in response to place, technology and Australian culture. The prize is presented every second year. For more information see the BlueScope Steel Glenn Murcutt Student Prize site.

For more information on Institute prizes, see the National prizes page.

Victorian Honours

Victorian Life Fellows

Please find below a list of Victorian Life Fellows. 

Victorian Life Fellows

Victorian Honorary Fellows

Please find below a list of Victorian Honorary Fellows.

Victorian Honorary Fellows

2014 Life Fellows & Past Presidents' Luncheon at 41X. Photo Lucy Spychal