2015 Australian Achievement in Architecture Awards

2015 Australian Achievement in Architecture Awards at the NGVA, Federation Square, Melbourne 

What's on

around the country

2016 Regional Conference - evoke
8 - 11 Sep, Townsville


2015 National Architecture Awards Jury

David Karotkin
Immediate Past President & National Jury Chair
Managing Director, Sandover Pinder

David Karotkin is Managing Director of award winning Perth-based architectural consultancy Sandover Pinder. After graduating from Curtin University with a Bachelor of Architecture, First Class Honours, David has spent 24 years practicing in the United Kingdom, Israel, Asia and Australia across a diverse portfolio of architectural projects including healthcare, education, law and order and community developments. Recently he led the firm’s expansion into the Indonesian healthcare industry, which has helped to set new international standards.
David was appointed as the Australian Institute of Architects National President in May 2014 following three years as the WA Chapter President.


Shelley Indyk
Design Director, Indyk Architects

Shelley Indyk’s projects include over 30 years experience in highly detailed Interior fitouts, New Cinemas, Hotel developments, bespoke private houses, community based urban projects and competitions.
Indyk has been a design tutor in the past, at Sydney University. During 1997 she taught at the Haifa Technion, Israel and was design tutor in an international architectural studio with Palestinian, Israeli, Finnish and Spanish students. She was involved in the initial Global Studio initiative in Istanbul Turkey in 2005, that came out of the UN’s Millenium Projects Task Force. She has shared awards for the development of the QT Sydney Hotel in 2013, was awarded runner up in competitions for a mosque in Nazareth, 4th place in the competition to transform the national Park of Gallipoli into a Peace park, and won an expressions of interest to design the masterplan for a Jewish community in Sydney involving the design of Synagogue, Child Care centre and Education forum.
She is on the board of the Aboriginal Benefits foundation, a not for profit organisation whose aim is to support art, health and cultural projects with a connection to aboriginal communities and artists.
Working with her team at Indyk Architects and collaborating with client, builder and community alike, Indyk is inspired by diversity and a commitment to lasting solutions that provide excellence and a positive outcome.
Architects need to travel, as the world becomes their ‘classroom’. In the last 20 years, Indyk has repeatedly visited Arnhem land with a group of female artists, exploring both the landscape and ancient cave art in ‘stone country’, guided by local elders. Her love of all art, drawing and the landscape is allowed the freedom of exploration in this vast country, and later brings deep insights into her work.

Steve Grieve
Director, Grieve Gillett Dimitty Andersen Architects

Steve Grieve is a Director of Grieve Gillett Dimitty Andersen Architects based in Adelaide.  Steve graduated in Architecture at UNSW and has been a Registered Architect since 1978.

Steve's extensive experience as an architect and urban designer includes arts, heritage, health, transport, education, residential and remote projects.  He has worked with state and local government clients, developers, private clients, community groups and cultural institutions.  He has a long involvement with arts organisations, both as an architect and as a board member.

Projects include the Lion Arts Centre, Tandanya (National Aboriginal Cultural Centre), the Torrens Parade Ground, Jam Factory, National Wine Centre Adelaide Studios at Glenside (both with Cox Richardson), the Adelaide Central School of Art, Rundle Mall (1996) and urban design for the New Royal Adelaide Hospital.  Steve has also worked extensively with the Adelaide Fringe and the Adelaide Festival to create visual arts venues and performance venues such as ‘Red Square’ and the ‘Depot’.

He has served on various boards and committees including Country Arts SA as chair, Regional Arts Australia, Urban Myth Theatre of Youth, the Experimental Art Foundation, the Arts Industry Council, AbaF, Arts SA’s Cultural Facilities Committee, Adelaide College for the Arts and the Little Big Book Club Inc.
He is currently the President of the South Australian Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects, a Professor in the School of Architecture & the Built Environment at the University of Adelaide and a board member of the Adelaide Fringe.

Philip Goad
Chair of Architecture, University of Melbourne

Professor Philip Goad holds the Chair of Architecture at the University of Melbourne. The Founding Director of the Melbourne School of Design, he is internationally known for his design criticism and historical research and has worked extensively as an architect, conservation consultant and curator. He is an authority on modern Australian architecture, an expert on the life and work of Robin Boyd, and has held visiting scholar positions at Columbia University, the Bartlett School of Architecture and UCLA. He has published widely in Australian architecture, including in the fields of modernism, residential, community, institutional and commercial building design, on individual architects and contemporary design thinking. Philip has been Editor of Fabrications and a contributing editor to Architecture Australia. Along with Associate Professor Julie Willis, he is the editor of the Encyclopaedia of Australian Architecture. He is a Life Fellow of the Australian Institute of Architects and a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Humanities.

Peta Heffernan
Director, Liminal Studio

Peta Heffernan is co-founding director of the cross-disciplinary practice, Liminal Studio launched in 2011. Liminal Studio is a Tasmanian owned, interdisciplinary ‘think-tank’ comprising Liminal Architecture, Liminal Graphics and Liminal Spaces. Their approach integrates design and architecture with the parallel disciplines graphic design, art, media, events, furniture design and performance. Underpinning the Studio’s philosophy is the belief that collaborative design across disciplines drives innovative thinking.

Peta’s contribution to architecture, design and place goes beyond the traditional boundaries of architecture, ranging from delivering award winning architecture and interiors to acclaimed collaborations in contemporary performances, exhibitions and festivals to roles influencing the framing of cultural policy.

Most recently, Peta’s recognition in the architecture and cultural scene has led to being awarded the Australian Institute of Architects (Tas) Emerging Architect Prize in 2013, contributions to festivals such as Ten Days on the Island and MONA FOMA, as well as invitations for guest speaker roles for various events including the 2013 agIdeas International Design Forum in Melbourne, the Tasmanian Leaders’ Congress in 2014 and expert panel member for Dark MOFO’s Future Hobart 2014 event.

2014 National Architecture Awards Jury

L-R: Clare Cousins, Lindy Johnson, Justin Hill, Paul Berkemeier (Past President and National Awards Jury Chair), and Virginia Kerridge.

2013 National Architecture Awards Jury

2014 National Jury

L-R: Past President and National Awards Jury Chair, Shelley Penn, Ben Hewett, Justine Clark, Richard Hassell and Hannah Tribe.